Secretary Before and After

October 7, 2010 at 7:11 AM 8 comments

As I’ve mentioned before, Eddie Ross is a genius at decorating, entertaining and revamping old pieces.  He is a constant source of inspiration.

Way back in 2008, I read about his transformation of an antique secretary.  While some of you may find painting such an antique a sin, I think it is liberating.  Sometimes, I’m so apprehensive about throwing some paint on a piece that has been around for a century.  But guess what?  In that century, the piece has become tired and it just needs a little facelift.

Watch Eddie play furniture surgeon here:

Before

Surgery:

The New Face:

Exactly what I want!

Now I’m nobody’s fool when it comes to how much time and care it takes to revamp a piece like this.  Painting may seem relaxing at first but by day five with your back aching and your hand coated in paint, you really start to question why you ever signed up for such a stupid idea in the first place.  That being said, I figure it’s kind of like having a baby…it’s really hard work during the birthing process (and painting process) but once your done you’ll have something that you’ll love and cherish for the rest of your life (yes, I did just compare a newborn to a piece of furniture clearly I’ve lost my mind and I don’t know what I’m talking about).  For more details on Eddie’s secretary transformation, click here.

There are a bazillion antique secretary’s on Craigslist.  And I believe I picked out my victim….

I won’t feel so badly about painting something that appears to have been sitting in a barn.  Wish me luck on this DIY, if I pull the trigger.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nathan Vincent Faux Bamboo Club Chairs

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grace  |  October 7, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    that’s incredible! did he change the glass to mirrors? do you know how one would go about doing that if one was to refurbish? i’m having antique secretary lust…

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 7, 2010 at 1:19 PM

      He did change out the glass to mirror. You can get mirror specially cut super cheap, a framing store should be able to do it. Then you just paint and change out the hardware.

      Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  October 7, 2010 at 12:56 PM

    The finished product looks outstanding. I’m sure it’s challenging, but it seems worth the effort!!

    Reply
  • 4. Beatrice  |  October 7, 2010 at 1:59 PM

    Be sure to paint before installing the mirrors. Kate the piece you have found is perfect for painting so go to it. I would leave the glass and paint the back a beautiful color.

    Reply
  • 5. anna see  |  October 7, 2010 at 8:15 PM

    Love it! It will look terrific!

    Reply
  • 6. Caroline  |  October 8, 2010 at 6:42 AM

    LOVE this and am inspired to do the same. Any chance you plan to post some painting how-tos or tips for those of us who have never tackled a project like this? If I tried, uneducated, there’s no telling what pile of crap I would produce.

    Reply
    • 7. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 8, 2010 at 7:36 AM

      It is great! I will happily post the instructions on what I did. I believe you A: sand it, B: prime it, C: Paint it D. Put in the mirrors E. Put it all back together. But I will give more detailed instructions when I try it out. I first have to find one that breaks apart so that it fits up my stairwell.

      Reply
  • 8. DesignTies  |  October 8, 2010 at 7:16 PM

    Wow, your Craigslist find is almost exactly the same as the secretary that Eddie made over!! I’m sure yours will look just as spectacular when you’re done 🙂

    Do you have a paint sprayer?? A friend of mine used a sprayer to paint her bedroom dresser, and I think she now loves the sprayer more then her hubby!! 😉

    Kelly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


