Foo Dog Lamps

October 4, 2010 at 8:07 AM 10 comments

This past Sunday, I went to the Alameda Flea Market. What a massive place!

When wandering the stalls, I spied a great pair of vintage foo dog table lamps and I immediately fell in love. I was very happy that I picked them up; as I walked through the flea market with them, strangers kept complimenting them.  Luckily, I got there early, otherwise I think they would now be in someone else’s home.

A foo dog lamp made a recent appearance in June’s issue of House Beautiful.

Image via House Beautiful

Foo Dogs, which are also known as the celestial dogs or happiness dogs, are the ancient sacred dogs of Asia who guard buddhist temples.  They are thought to have protective powers in the home.  They are also very stylish and have popped up all over the decor world…see if you can spy the foo dogs below.

Designed by Domicile Interior Design

Designed by Erin Gates of Elements of Style

Image via Girl Meets Glamour

Image via Kitarita

Image via Kitarita

I was hesitant that foo dogs were too trendy and overdone.  However, since the first appearance of a foo dog is believed to have been sometime in the period of 208 BC and 221 AD, I don’t think I need to worry about trendiness.  The foo dog is not going anywhere.  And I like the unique look of a lamp.

If you would like your own lamp, here are some places you can pick them up:

Picture of Pair of Foo Dog Lamps

The Well Appointed House

Neiman Marcus

Foo Dog Lamps | Pair

Plantation Design

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday Stationary Memories

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glynnis  |  October 4, 2010 at 10:38 AM

    I love them Kate. Well done finding them. Never knew they were called “Foo!””

    Reply
  • 3. Elisabeth  |  October 4, 2010 at 10:40 AM

    Love them! I totally should have gone with you. Next month!

    Reply
  • 5. aroundtheworldin100days  |  October 4, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    can’t wait to be back in SF and go flea marketing with you… you seem to have a real gift for finding great stuff! just one more week (well, 10 days). see you soon. xoxo

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 5, 2010 at 9:19 AM

      I can’t wait until your back. I can’t believe it’s only ten days away. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

      Reply
  • 7. Katy  |  October 4, 2010 at 3:20 PM

    I think my parents have a variation in their home. You should look for them next time you’re there. I LOVE them and now that I know the story behind them, I’m going to make sure I stake claim!

    Reply
  • 9. Jessica from Leather Lounge Furniture  |  October 4, 2010 at 9:32 PM

    Great finds. I love the chesterfield white leather bed head. I’m currently obsessed with all things chesterfield. Renovating my house at the moment, maybe I should try to find some nice pieces from the markets!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  October 5, 2010 at 9:21 AM

      I love the chesterfield! I’m sure you could get some great finds for your renovation.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


