Happy Friday

September 24, 2010 at 8:13 AM 5 comments

Happy Friday everyone! Friday couldn’t have come fast enough this week because I want Graham to help me out with some heavy lifting around the apartment. And we have a little wire project to tackle. You see, we want the TV to reside on the opposite side of the room of our outlet. Don’t wires just make you crazy?!

I wanted to update some photos for you of our apartment; I apologize in advance for the terrible quality of the photos. I took them with my I Phone instead of using our Cannon because I’ve been really short on blogging time this week.

What I showed you earlier in the week

Some sneak peaks of the apartment coming along…

Currently, our only seating in the living room; we have to find a couch that fits up our stairwell. I have a Madeline Weinrib rug to go down and I will be adding in more color. In case you are wondering…the gray velvet barrel back chairs are from Pottery Barn, the leather pillows are from Pottery Barn, the coral crewel pillow we picked up in Turkey last year, the brown throw is from Crate and Barrel and the tripod lamp is from Pottery Barn. I swear I do shop at more stores than Pottery Barn! For instance, my bookshelf items come from all over…

The bookcase itself is from Ikea; I believe it cost $20 and I painted it gray.

A closeup of the bookshelf –

The wood shark is from a tiny town in South Africa (yes, I carried that home on the plane); I used wood shoe forms as book ends, which I picked up at a flea market in Chicago; the little Jonathan Adler white dog paper weight was a gift from my sister-in-law and I love it! Thank you, Brittany! The blue and white porcelain dog on the bottom shelf I picked up yesterday; I am planning on adding it to my shop but as for now I’m far too in love with it to part with it. The flower print is from my oh so talented cousin, Julia Lynn – here is her website. I will be doing a post on her work in the future; she is amazing. (I will be hanging the print and centering it in the frame; it seems to have slipped when moving).

I think I win the most improved award for the week. I have to give the biggest thanks to my mom who came up here and saved the day. Whenever she caught me staring at boxes with an overwhelmed look on my face, she told me snap out of it and get back to work. Exactly what I needed! Thanks mom; you are the best!!

We still have lots of work to go…so it’s time I head back to it.

Happy Friday everyone!! What are you up to? We have drinks with friends tonight and our nephews third birthday party tomorrow, plus lots of apartment work. Speaking of birthdays, this sweet little niece of mine turned 1 yesterday.

Isn’t she the cutest?! Happy birthday, Abby! Photo taken by Helen Bae Photography.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

John Derian Dorothy Draper Espana Chest

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  September 24, 2010 at 8:33 AM

    Staples sells brackets for mounting wires to the floor molding and around doorways—that’s how we put our TV across the room. You can buy white wire and TV cable.
    The apartment looks very together.

    Reply
    • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  September 24, 2010 at 8:44 AM

      Yes, that is what I was planning on doing. I hate to mess up the paint job of our new place – hopefully it wont be too bad,

      Thank you for you comment about the place and for Julia’s beautiful print! I love the color it adds to the room.

      Reply
  • 3. Jenny  |  September 24, 2010 at 8:58 AM

    Welcome back to the city by the bay Kate (& Graham)!! The place is looking great! Can’t wait to see you! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  September 24, 2010 at 10:19 AM

    It’s looking good! Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


