Home For Good

September 20, 2010 at 5:30 AM 7 comments

“Home, the spot of earth supremely blest. A dearer, sweeter spot then all the rest.” — Robert Montgomery

I have the song “At Last” by Etta James repeating in my head today. It feels so good to be home at long last, “my love (San Francisco) has come along.” A deerer sweeter spot then all the rest.  Living the transient life is filled with adventure, new experiences and hilarities. But it is exhausting, stressful and unhealthy.

 

At last, my hubby and I get to put some roots down. We can play house together and maybe dip back into the newlywed period. We can visit our families on a whim without a $700 dollar, five hour plane ride attached to it. We can see our friends and catch up on their daily lives without having to think about time zone differences. We (I mean I) can decorate every little nook and cranny of our apartment. We can surf at the beach (not very well) grab breakfast in the city and ski up in Tahoe (me, not very well)  all in one day. We can soak in the warm California sun poolside at my mom’s or we can bundle up and watch the fog billow through the streets at our apartment. We can take long meandering walks through the Presidio and breathe in the distinct smell of eucalyptus trees. We can be home…for good. (Famous last words – I guess you never know what the future entails).

(Painting available here)

Chicago was a glorious city to live in and New York is always the bees knees. But honestly, these past two years have been draining. I took more flights than I can count, I ate out at hundreds of unhealthy restaurants and my idea of a routine is waking up in the same bed four days in a row without having to be somewhere else. In the midst of the motion, I’ve tried to cope with losing my dad. About a year ago, a grief counselor told me that in order to heal, I had to establish roots. Since she told me that, I have taken 42 flights and I have lived out of a hotel for the past three months.

I’m not trying to complain. It is just that honesty has always been my policy. The prospect of real roots has me in happy tears.

And guess what? You get to come along with me as I DIY (Do It Yourself ) the heck out of our new apartment. I will share every step with you from the hiccups and mess ups to the proud finished product. I can’t wait to share with you how I make a home.

Cheers to roots!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sweet Goodbyes The State of Things

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn  |  September 20, 2010 at 6:47 AM

    Love this post… even though it makes me a tad sad.

    I’m so happy that you and Graham are settled.

    Reply
  • 2. Erin Bales  |  September 20, 2010 at 9:46 AM

    Welcome home, Kate and Graham!

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  September 20, 2010 at 10:08 AM

    Your post made me love SF even more than I already do! Thought that was impossible. YAYYYYYYYYYYY, you’re home!

    Reply
  • 4. bridget  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    WEEEEELLLLCOOOOOMME HOOOOOOOMME!!! love you both to bits, SO excited you are putting down the roots right across the bay from our tree.

    Reply
  • 5. Katie Iversen  |  September 20, 2010 at 5:48 PM

    So jealous you are back in San Francisco! I love that city! Hopefully I will see you the next time I am there. Good luck decorating the apartment–I can’t wait to see it!

    Reply
  • 6. Gretchen  |  September 20, 2010 at 7:15 PM

    So very happy for you and cannot wait to see and read about your new place and projects!

    Reply
  • 7. Lauren Grote  |  September 20, 2010 at 9:53 PM

    so exciting! I’m so happy to have you back on the west coast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


