Sweet Goodbyes

September 17, 2010 at 7:02 AM 7 comments

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.” – Thomas Wolfe

My first time to New York City, I was a Sophomore in college visiting my brother at NYU Law over Thanksgiving. There was an unforgiving freeze in the air, people had their heads down and were all about business, not a single leaf clung to the Elm trees. And yet, within a heartbeat of arriving, I was head over heels in love.

By that point, I had traveled to over 13 countries and I had never been to New York. I swear to you, I had never seen anything so beautiful; I had never felt magic before. I belonged instantly.

The dazzling lights of Times Square at night left me mouth agape, the views on top of the World Trade Center had this small time girl humbled, the fashionistas hanging out at our newly opened, “it” hotel had me in awe of their confidence. It was then and there, I made a pledge that I would be moving to this city. Nothing would get in my way.

Flash forward two years later, and I arrived in this city with two rolling suitcases, my best friend and no plan. I went on to spend two splendid years in New York. It was everything I wanted it to be and more. The lights, noise, and bustle pumped into me and kept me constantly wired. Who has time to sleep in a city that never sleeps? When the time came to let go of the glamor and glitz, I mourned leaving the city. Thinking I would never be back except for brief visits.

Fast forward, five years later and I was given the greatest gift of all: ten weeks of apple time. Ten weeks of 10:00 dinners outside welcoming the warm nights; of drinks infused with mysterious wonder berries hand gathered at far off lands; of lazy Sundays lying in sheep meadow taking in the sights of hundreds of strangers walking by my content gaze; of train rides out to The Hamptons living the life of seersucker, popped collars and rose; of admiring, feeling and taking in the wondrously massive supply of textiles; of long lunches with girlfriends followed by slow meanders through cobblestone streets; of meeting trend-setters, casting off my greatest treasures through Craigslist; of showing my husband why within five minutes I belonged to New York and how it will always be a part of me.

Farewell sweet New York.  I loved my time as always! May I one day bring a child here who feels the need to play out their big dreams on this tiny Island.

P.S. I went out to a restaurant last night (Otto).  My brother informed me (after I ate there) the restaurant location used to be a bar when he was at law school.  Ironically, we went to that very bar the first night on my premier visit to New York; seven years later, the night before I leave for California, I happen to end up in the same location.  Funny when life comes full circle.

Images from This is Glamorous

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Our Little French Spot Home For Good

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley Austin  |  September 17, 2010 at 7:11 AM

    New York will miss you but looks forward to many visits.

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  September 17, 2010 at 9:04 AM

    Thanks, Ash! Oh I’ll be out to visit!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  September 17, 2010 at 10:18 AM

    I can’t imagine having to leave NYC a 2nd time. The first time was hard enough. We’ll spend the rest of our lives taking “research” trips there! Thank god for being bi-coastal!! Will you be in your new apt. on Sunday? I’m coming to say hi. HOW AWESOME IS THAT?

    BTW, your post says it all just perfectly. Splendid writing my friend.

    Reply
  • 4. Miles  |  September 17, 2010 at 1:12 PM

    Great post. Glad you got your second NY “time”, even if it did get interrupted by too many coast to coast trips. I remember the night at the bar well. Hope you didn’t feel the need to repeat the earlier performance and harrass fresh college grads !! Can’t wait to see you and Graham shortly.

    Reply
  • 5. mom  |  September 17, 2010 at 3:09 PM

    Wonderful spirited post. Your brothers all did their adventure after college (Aspen, Chile and Portland); I always thought yours was the wildest. NYC will be yours forever. It will be good to have you home.
    Love, Mom

    Reply
  • 6. Lauren Grote  |  September 17, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    Oh New York! A well written tribute to New York…I am sure it will miss you as much as you miss it :). You always did just fit perfectly with NY.

    Reply
  • 7. consciouscloset  |  September 21, 2010 at 1:25 PM

    Love this post, Kate! It was fun to send-off NYC with you : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


