What a whirlwind

August 31, 2010 at 7:59 AM 5 comments

You know when Comcast gives you a four hour window and you’d rather pull out your hair then sit waiting for them for four hours?  Well, the movers gave us a fourteen day window for when they would arrive with our stuff!!  The only catch is that I live (temporarily) in New York and I couldn’t just pop over to be there for the movers.  Of course, I received a call yesterday that they had arrived early and the ONLY day they could drop it off is Wednesday of this week.  Now my Thursday trip to San Francisco has changed to today with less than 24 hours notice.  Oh Lordy!

(Print available here)

Back on the planes.  As much as I’m excited to move in and thrilled for my cousin’s wedding this weekend in the Bay Area.  I am dragging my heels to get on that plane.  Didn’t it feel like yesterday that I was flying across the country?  Well, actually it was 8 days ago.  I try to stay upbeat on this blog.  But, my oh my, I am tired of flying.

(Watercolor available here)

Think positive….I get to be inside my new apartment and reunite with my furniture.  Hee hee!  Now that will be fun!  Plus, I get the new experience of having movers.  Glorious!!

Then for even better times, I have my cousin’s fun-filled wedding at our ranch.  I’ve been waiting all summer for this wedding.

Why should a silly flight with a layover in Chicago get in the way?   Perhaps because this will be my eleventh time flying  cross-country this summer.  Okay, okay – I’ll stop my griping.  I know there are way worse things out there then flying to wonderful events and awesome experiences on either side of our grand country.

(Print available here)

The most positive outcome of all, my fear of flying has greatly diminished.  Practice, practice, practice. They say facing your fears, is the way to get over them.  I’m facing them alright.  My most frightening flights were in Namibia, about 9 month ago, where the runway consisted of an orange flag and they figured out how to land based on which way the flag was blowing.  Scary!  But survivable.

(Thank goodness, we never had to land in a herd of elephants).

Dare I say it, I don’t think I’m afraid of flying anymore.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Art on the Floor The Crosby Street Hotel

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaclyn  |  August 31, 2010 at 8:05 AM

    Holy Moly Girl!

    Well, it is definitely bittersweet news for me to hear! Good luck with the movers and hope you have a great time with your family this weekend. Call me when you are back! We HAVE to see you and Graham before you go 😦

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 31, 2010 at 9:23 AM

    Thanks! You’ll be getting a call for sure; I get back on Tuesday and we have to get together before we leave. 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  August 31, 2010 at 9:51 AM

    I love knowing you’re close, though I probably won’t see you! Remember that Walt Disney was afraid of mice…looks like you learned a little something from that snowboard instructor we were following that day. I love the pic of the girl sleeping in her suitcase; you’re a real jetsetter!

    Reply
  • 4. Miles  |  August 31, 2010 at 10:05 AM

    Look forward to seeing you tonight. Way to face your fears!

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren Grote  |  August 31, 2010 at 6:36 PM

    Yea for movers! And hopefully you are getting some kind of benefits of MVP status after all those flights…hopefully a free cocktail or two makes the flight more bareable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


