Hanging with the Rue Gals

August 24, 2010 at 5:54 AM 6 comments

I had a reader tell me that he was curious about what happened with my design dinner last time I was out in San Francisco and that he was sure other readers wanted to know as well.  I never want to let readers down.  Especially when the reader I talked about above was my husband. 🙂

So about a month ago now, I flew to San Francisco where I signed a lease on a place – at Presidio and Clay (come visit, once we have moved in).  And more importantly I went to a very fun party hosted by the girls who are starting Rue Magazine: Crystal, Anne, and Caitlin.  We went to Bin 38, sipped wine and gabbed about all things design, blog and shelter magazine related.  It was great fun!

Besides the ever so talented Rue girls.  I also got to meet some people who I respect in the design world.  There are two that I have to mention and show their work.  One was Catherine, founder of Rikshaw Design.  You may have seen her stuff in Lonny Magazine.  It is beautiful; her collection of Indian block printed textiles includes crib sets, pillows, accessories and women’s clothing.  I love her kurtas:

I also had the honor of meeting Grant K. Gibson who has been featured in pretty much every major shelter magazine.  Just to sit by such design greatness had me so pleased.  Here is his apartment in Pacific Heights; it is a rental, that he asked for two months free in exchange for him to renovate it.  How smart!

(Grant’s own bedroom that was scheduled to appear in Domino Magazine but the magazine folded and it was featured in the New York Times instead).  The canopy bed is from Pottery Barn Teen which he added a headboard to.

He sanded the floors and stained them walnut.

I’m in love with this bay window; the bamboo romans are from Target.

He added in mirrors at the back of this built in cabinet.

The serving tray at left was a hand-me down from a client and the black and white flooring in the bathroom is 99 cent linoleum tiles.

Isn’t his place fabulous?

I hope you enjoyed my little recap of the night.  It was a perfect evening and I’m so happy the Rue girls invited me to share in the fun.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Design Question Adorable Oxfords

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nowisgoodblog  |  August 24, 2010 at 6:42 AM

    Sigh. I miss Domino.

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 24, 2010 at 7:27 AM

    Me too!! I still think of every month when the magazines hit the stands.

    Reply
  • 3. Jill  |  August 24, 2010 at 9:17 AM

    Yippie! You signed a lease! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 24, 2010 at 9:48 AM

      Yes!! I love it! I can’t wait to have you guys over for dinner!!

      Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  August 24, 2010 at 4:02 PM

    Grant K. Gibson’s barter idea was brilliant! He should have asked for 6 months free, it’s gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 6. Crystal @ Plush Palate  |  August 24, 2010 at 4:59 PM

    Thanks for the sweet shout out Kate! I’m so glad I got to see you again in SF! The night wouldn’t have been the same without you. Congrats on your new place!!! xo, Crystal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


