Design Question

August 23, 2010 at 5:30 AM 6 comments

I’ve had a bit of an internal debate going on and I’d like to throw it out to all of you readers.  Please help me out.

While in California, I squeezed in some Craigslist shopping time and I bought this headboard for $40.

image 1902669073-0

I’m not in love with the way how it is painted currently.  I like things a bit more modern and little less French country.  It is beautiful the way it is, it just doesn’t match my style.  But, I do think the lines of the frame are fantastic and at a $40 price tag; how can I go wrong?

Option 1:  I could upholster the entire frame giving it a similar look to the York Headboard

4111.jpg

Option 2:  Paint the entire headboard a color, perhaps a fun poppy color like orange, coral or mustard yellow.  I couldn’t find a painted headboard in the same shape but I’m sure you can imagine it.

Image via Little Green Notebook.

Option 3: Upholster part of the headboard and leave part of the headboard’s wood exposed, like this:

Or like the Cookie Magazine headboard that I have wanted for years now with the Otomi fabric

Hmmm.  Decisions.  Decisions.  I would likely attempt to do the upholstering myself which could run totally amuck but save us money.  Painting it would be the easiest and cheapest option.  But who says I have to take the easy way out?  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday Hanging with the Rue Gals

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. debby manning  |  August 23, 2010 at 6:39 AM

    kate, i’m for the last option, red and white print fabric w/ black laquer border; totally graphic and current. . . while i adore the present condition of your new headboard, i agree the ‘updating’ option suits your design sense! best, debby

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:23 AM

    I’m afraid I absolutely love it as it is and think it would be a shame to change it. Sorry, but you asked!

    Reply
  • 3. nowisgoodblog  |  August 23, 2010 at 10:50 AM

    The fully upholstered headboard is my least favorite option. Since you’re leaning toward upholstery (it sounds like), I LOVE the last option. And there’s such a great wide molding around the headboard that you’d have a nice chuck of gorgeous exposed wood left after upholstering the middle. Plus, if the self-upholstery runs amok, you can always start over and just paint the entire thing a great orange!

    Reply
  • 4. Ann  |  August 23, 2010 at 11:09 AM

    How fun! My vote is for the easy way out, painting is cheap and you can always upholster later if it’s not as fabulous as you imagined. You could do the whole thing a simple glossy white and the trim in mustard or poppy to accent the detail. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  August 23, 2010 at 4:47 PM

    I love the last option too! Plus, the wood is so beautiful, it would be nice to be able to see some of it. What a fun project! And $40 is such a good deal. Going to need some Craigslist pointers!

    Reply
  • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  August 23, 2010 at 5:23 PM

    Thank you so much, ladies! I love all of these suggestions and I feel so inspired. I will keep you posted on what I end up doing, complete with a DIY step by step post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


