Craigslist Crushes

August 12, 2010 at 5:08 AM 1 comment

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m thrilled with the prospect of decorating a new home.  Not to mention the thought of having a home.  While living in a hotel in New York has been very fun, I can only play Eloise at the Plaza for so long (no, we’re not staying at the Plaza).  We will be moving to San Francisco for an indefinite amount of time, until we break down and head to the burbs.  With Graham’s 6 am start time at work, I’m thinking it’ll be a while before garages, lawns and more space are screaming out our names.  For now, we are city people.  However, the move to the city doesn’t happen until September 18.

I’ve been working with a client in Los Angeles and have been helping her decorate her place with some terrific, budget friendly finds on Craigslist.  This latest search has given me the itch to start looking for myself.  And low and behold I’ve fallen in love with certain items but there isn’t really much of a way I could get them.  People don’t just wait a month for me to come inspect the item and pay them for it.  However, my mom is picking up two chrome bamboo side-tables for me.  Have I mentioned before that she is the greatest mom ever?!

My loves…

image 1886483329-2image 1886483329-3

Vintage modern lucite desk clock.

image 1880581346-0image 1880581346-1

A Lucite vanity chair that I would maybe recover the seat in Rubbie Green Zig Zag fabric.

A pair of Hollywood Regency vintage chrome bamboo side tables which my mom is picking up for me.  Thank you mom; I love you!  I’m thinking I’ll put them side by side for our coffee table.  I would love to find trays that would fit each one perfectly a la these sold on 1st Dibs for $8,125.00:

image 1884309475-0 image 1884309475-2

Gorgeous dining room table; we already own one but I think it’s going to be too small for the dining room and I love this one.  It is custom made from recycled wood.

I would take off the seat cushion of this Rachel Ashwell Shabby Chic seat and put on a more update cushion; I love the lines of this chair.  I might even paint it a high gloss red or navy; wouldn’t the chair be wonderful dipped in faux paint that would appear gold leafed?

image 1887956298-0

This may seem a bit out there but I’m loving this orange velvet headboard from William Sonoma Home – with some white and navy bedding, it would look scrumptious.  This headboard with navy and white striped pillows could turn into the header on my website. 🙂  I’m in talks with the woman selling it to buy it however I don’t think the base will get up our apartment stairwell.

image 1892328475-2

We have zero need for another chair like this but it is pretty – the West Elm Sweep Armchair, here is the link if you are interested.

What do you think?  Am I making all the right moves or have I completely lost my mind?  Or somewhere in between?  I wouldn’t put all these items together in a room as it would feel very jumbled but it is fun to see what is out there.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lonny Love Bamboo-banaza

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Contemporary Bedding  |  August 27, 2010 at 1:36 PM

    I love your idea about redoing the Rachel Ashwell Shabby Chic seat!

    Aah…the fun and excitement of redecorating….

    Hera

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


