Buckingham Interiors and Design New Space

July 19, 2010 at 8:03 AM 2 comments

I am honored to present to you the new office and showroom for Buckingham Interiors and Design.  If you are a loyal reader of this blog, you know that Julia Buckingham Edelmann is hands down, my absolute favorite interior designer.  I am in awe of her design eye.  She is also an incredibly kind and supportive person.

There are so many pieces in the space that I still think about constantly in the past month since I was last there.  Such as the chandeliers, especially the stunning pink jade empire chandelier, by Marjorie Skouras, that you see when you first walk in.  Julia also has amazing artwork, which I think can really make a space sing.  She features the artist Marilyn Borglum, a local Chicago artist.

Julia took an old industrial plant in the hot west side district of Chicago and transformed it into a gallery feeling space by whitewashing the floors and leaving the walls white.  Against the white, there are wonderful pops of color, such as the pink jade chandelier and the large striped painting in Julia’s office.  Everywhere you look, you will be dazzled with treasures from all over the world put together in such a cohesive way that showcases Julia’s amazing talent of blending.   Julia really is a treasure hunter and she finds fabulous things in some unexpected places, such as my chair from Craigslist which is now her office chair.  Or the lighting in her office which she found at a local antique store and she had her eye on for an entire year; once she started to design her own office she knew she finally found its home; lucky for Julia, nobody was as smart as her to snatch it up.

Bravo, Julia!  Oh, if only I lived in Chicago and I could visit there all the time.  If you do, I encourage you to stop by offices are located at 1820 West Grand Avenue Chicago, IL 60622.  All photos via Material Girls.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Friday!! World Class Flea Market in San Francisco

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  July 20, 2010 at 6:11 AM

    Thank you, Kate! I am so flattered by all of your kind words..we all miss you terribly here in Chicago.
    Have an amazing time in NYC- my best to Graham on his fantastic new job.
    Happy belated Birthday- you amazing young designer 🙂
    Visit soon,
    xo
    J

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 20, 2010 at 2:57 PM

    Thank you! I hope I can get out there sometime soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


