Dirty Thirty

July 13, 2010 at 4:45 AM 14 comments

“Time and tide wait for no man, but time always stands still for a woman of thirty.”  Robert Frost

Today is my thirtieth birthday!!

Just one year ago, I dreaded turning thirty.  I wanted to hold on to my twenties with a fierce grip.  But my wise sister-in-law said to me, “Thirties are a time to be chic.”  I love that.  It totally changed my mind on aging.  I may depressingly be in a different clothes bracket then my friends in the monthly In Style “what to wear in your 20’s, 30’s and 40’s” column, but I’ll be chic.

Looking back, I absolutely loved my twenties, but I’ve got to admit, I wasn’t exactly chic; I was a bit of a mess.  I turned twenty my sophomore year of college and I’ll readily admit that I was a mess with my rarely washed hair and barely clean fleeces.  I was embracing everything that a small hippie liberal arts college could give me.  In my early twenties, I moved to New York City and as much as I felt chic, I was a mess.  From my neglected room covered in that night’s outfit choices to my way too enthusiastic discovery of dirty, dirty martinis, I was a mess.  At twenty-five, I moved home to San Francisco and I felt determined to prove myself in the career world.  However, again, I was a mess.  From my “quarter life crisis” self-help book to my yes sir, overworked, underappreciated work ethic, I was a run-down mess.  At twenty-seven, I married and I’ve got to say on the wedding day I was not a mess.  But leading up to it, dealing with a wedding, helplessly watching my sick father, finishing a Masters, writing a thesis and working full time, I was an overstretched , if you see a smile on my face it is fake, mess.  At twenty-eight, I lost my father and for the rest of that year and most of twenty-nine, I was an emotional, lost, energy depleted mess.

Yes, my wrinkles have arrived and that damn cellulite is growing.  I finally understand the “as you age, it’s harder to lose the fat” theory.  Yet despite all my messes, looking back, I loved my twenties.  Even with the spills, hiccups, stumbles, break-ups and tragedies, it has been a truly awesome ten years.  And even with my messes, I must say, I was pulled together. 🙂

So what is in store for my thirties?  More messes, no doubt.  But I’ve learned some things that I believe will bring the chic-ness my sister-in-law alluded to:

1.) My fleeces are reserved for camping and I shower daily.

2.) Dirty martinis are meant to be sipped and not guzzled and only once in a blue moon.

3.) My career is what I want it to be despite what any future bosses say (including children).  I ultimately answer to myself.

4.) My use of the word “no” increases substantially and if I am overstretched, I wiped that damn fake smile off of my face.

5.) My life is lived to the fullest in my dad’s honor.  I always follow the advice he wrote me in a book that he gave me the year that I turned twenty: “allow yourself to be happy.”

Here is to my chic, self-empowered thirties and all of the messes that life brings with it!  Bring it on.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ABC Carpet and Home Thank You

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glynnis  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:08 AM

    Happy Birthday Kate. I love your style and your positive attitude – and truly, life just keeps getting better. (I’m about twice your age, so I speak from well-earned experience.) Have a wonderful day in NYC; you are a chic, unmessy powerhouse!

    Reply
  • 3. JACLYN  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:29 AM

    awesome post!

    Happy Birthday!!!!! Tony and I are still unpacking boxes but hopefully this weekend we can meet for dinner and drinks to celebrate! Can’t wait to see you soon!

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 15, 2010 at 7:39 AM

      Thank you! I can’t wait to meet up. I’m actually leaving for Seattle today (Thursday) but I’ll be back on Monday.

      Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  July 13, 2010 at 9:41 AM

    I loved the hot mess that you were in your twentys! But don’t forget how much more you were than that. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you my friend, enjoy the day, the year, the decade. Can’t wait to chic it up with you all decade long! I’ll probably need some pointers. Have a GREAT 30th birthday!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 15, 2010 at 7:41 AM

      Thank you!! I loved every bit of my hot mess self…it’s the messes that makes life fun or at least interesting. LOVED my twenties with you and I can’t wait for the next many decades together.

      Reply
  • 7. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 13, 2010 at 10:01 AM

    Happy Birthday Sweet Kate…….
    Can’t wait to see how your thirties turn out……..
    Bet you will start a family in your thirties….. you and Grahm will
    have much fun and adventure in your new life together, I love
    you and your wonderful enthusiasm for life.
    Have a great day and a wonderful time with yur family this week.

    Reply
  • 8. Lauren  |  July 13, 2010 at 11:33 AM

    Happy Birthday Kate! I loved spending my twenties with you–messes and all! That is what makes life interesting :). Can’t wait to see you on Thursday. Live it up in NY for me. Love you!

    Reply
    • 9. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 15, 2010 at 7:42 AM

      We had amazing twenties together! We lived them up to the fullest…I loved my messes as well. See you tonight!!

      Reply
  • 10. Shannon  |  July 14, 2010 at 5:56 PM

    I love you so much! That was a great post, gosh, turning 30 sounds great the way you put it! I can’t wait now…5 months to go!

    Reply
    • 11. katecollinsinteriors  |  July 15, 2010 at 7:43 AM

      Thank you!! I love you! I can’t wait until we are both 30…only five more months…:)

      Reply
  • 12. michelle @ blissful musings  |  July 14, 2010 at 10:56 PM

    Happy Happy Birthday!! I’m sorry I’m a day late. Hope you had a beautiful celebration!

    Reply
  • 14. Lindsay  |  July 16, 2010 at 9:59 AM

    The chicest of posts, my love. Thirties are FABulous; I’d never go back, and clearly neither would you. I’m so looking forward to our chic, fulfilling decade again. And by the way, a la the same Louboutin quote, 40 is all about ‘le cheque,’ so there’s something to look forward to as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 359 other followers


