Trash Hotel

June 29, 2010 at 5:40 AM 2 comments

I have to admit that a certain twang of guilt comes with writing my blog.  I love what I do and I am very happy I finally got around to starting such a blog.  However, I don’t want to always encourage people to buy, buy, buy because I don’t like the amount of waste that happens on this earth.  I do try to encourage using old things in new ways but I am guilty of pushing new products that I love.

I was reading Mary Meyer’s blog, the hip clothing designer (who happens to be a good friend of my brother and sister in law) and she posted about a new hotel made completely of trash.  It was constructed with 12 tons of trash, collected from European beaches, by the German artist, HA Schult in collaboration with Save the Beach.  It is quite an undertaking to construct a three bedroom, two bathroom hotel solely from small pieces of trash.  It is very profound because the hotel is reusing waste in the ultimate way and it is putting on display how much garbage we produce.  Sometimes, I wish that we couldn’t put all nasty trash bits and pieces away in a landfill because by tucking the trash away in a giant whole, it makes it so easy for us to go on our merry way polluting.

Helena Christansian stayed at this hotel – now she can make trash look chic.

The hotel sits in Rome and will only be open for four days.

“Trash People” created by Schuldt who commonly works with the medium of garbage.  What do you think about the hotel?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy Anniversary to Us Grand Opening

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe Imwalle  |  June 29, 2010 at 2:20 PM

    So awesome! There is a show at Creative Growth in Oakland right now that features an outsider artist who makes all his art from trash as well. They are mostly enormous skeleton bat and dog sculptures made from trash as well as small mounted beetles and such (also made from garbage).

    Here is a link to a peek of the show.

    http://creativegrowth.org/current

    Reply
  • 2. Katy  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:54 PM

    Sweet Sweet reusing!! I love today’s post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


