Love Letter to Chicago

June 25, 2010 at 5:40 AM 11 comments

Let me first start by stating that I realize Chicago is a place and not a person. I haven’t completely fallen off my rocker, yet. But in parting, I thought that I would write Chicago a letter.

Dearest Chicago,

How I love thee. When first moving here, I was skeptical of all that you would offer me. I didn’t personally choose to move here it was a choice made with my husband so he could go to business school here. Therefor, it was more of an arranged marriage; however, I knew with some time I would grow to love you. And I did so much. Now, if we’re going with the marriage analogy, you are a polygamist at it’s finest, married to 2,896,016 people. So I guess you won’t miss me but I’ll miss you.

I’ll miss my morning walks through my cute Lincoln Park neighborhood. I’ll miss laying in the park and listening to the birds sing in the spring time. I’ll miss the silence and stillness after a huge snowstorm. I’ll miss the museums, skyscrapers and theater. I’ll miss the packed bars and friendly atmosphere. I’ll miss the architecture, the fabulous design shoppes and the history.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all love. We have had our fights. Like flying, you always seem to time a thunderstorm, tornado or snowstorm just as I take off, apparently testing my growing fear of flying (maybe you just didn’t want me to leave). Or the time that I practically drove to Indiana with absolutely no clue where I was, tears streaming down my face without my cell phone, knowing full well that it was negative 25 outside. Or when I would casually compare your temperature to that of Anchorage, Alaska where a dear friend lives, and every time Alaska looked downright balmy. And don’t get me started on your intersections; who planned this city?! Why are on Earth is it that most intersections consist of four streets intersecting. Have you ever heard of two? Or proper signage? Turning left is a nightmare. In fact, I can’t turn left. I’m like Derek Zoolander; I am not an auto ambi-turner.

But like all great relationships, in the end, I really only look to the good times: to the lazy walks along the shore line; to popping in and out of adorable boutiques on Armitage; to gazes out at an endless horizon on top of the John Hancock building, to sipping superb wine at comfy Webster’s Wine Bar, to my exquisite brownstone walk up apartment complete with ivy growing up the exterior wall, to your absolutely magnificent mile. You never seize to dazzle me.

One day, I’ll return for a visit, Chicago. You’ll likely greet me with a thunderstorm but that won’t deter me. My husband and I will revisit our old stomping grounds probably with kids in tow and we’ll tell them long drawn out stories of the good old days. The blissful first years of marriage. For you did provide bliss after losing my father, the most difficult time of my life. Thank you Chicago for giving me shelter and a needed refuge from all of the pain experienced in California. Sadly, I can’t stay at my refuge forever. It’s time to face a more empty home. But, I can do this with your help. You’ve given me the courage I needed to live again.

Cheers Chicago!

Love

Kate

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Living Room and Dining Nook: Before and After Happy Anniversary to Us

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  June 25, 2010 at 7:38 AM

    That was a beautiful love story!

    Reply
  • 3. Pete  |  June 25, 2010 at 7:46 AM

    Love Chicago! Perfectly articulated, as usual Kate.

    Reply
  • 5. Graham  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:14 AM

    I second everyone else – nicely put. I feel the same way Chicago – it was a fabulous two years and we will miss you. Thanks for the good times!

    Reply
  • 6. mom  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:14 AM

    Lovely.

    Reply
  • 7. Katy  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:25 AM

    Love the letter, and really love that it was a goodbye letter. Because that means HELLO KT! Happy Friday!

    Reply
  • 8. Glynnis  |  June 25, 2010 at 11:57 AM

    I can see why you loved Chicago and the life you had there. It is a beautiful city but I’m really glad I only saw it in good weather. And now – on to the next adventure for the two of you.

    Reply
  • 9. Julia Buckingham Edelmann  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:37 PM

    Kate and Graham,
    Your time here may have been short but your roots ran deep!
    xo

    Reply
  • 10. Kate S  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    This is fabulous Kate–congratulations! You’ve got exceptionally wonderful taste 🙂 It was also nice to read your Chicago letter as Chicago may soon be in my future (and it was nice to know I am not the only one who has endured a teary drive while lost in suburbia late at night!) xo Kate S.

    Reply
  • 11. Kate S  |  June 30, 2010 at 11:00 AM

    (I should note my “congrats” was for your Grand Opening post; I must have read several posts at once without realizing it!) 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


