Living Room and Dining Nook: Before and After

June 24, 2010 at 5:15 AM 20 comments

Today, I am proud to present to you my finished product: a living room and dining nook makeover.  I have been working with a wonderful client, Molly, to decorate her place and to give it a fresh look.  When she first moved in to her place, she purchased furniture in sets but she had grown tired of the look.  I was more than happy to help.  All photos were taken by Enero of Pillbox 79 Productions. She was a pleasure to work with and I would highly recommend her.  This is how it turned out…

Before….

And after…

We sold the old couch and chair and replaced it with a more stream lined sofa and two arm chairs.  I also added in a rug from West Elm to bring some warmth to the area.

I changed around the layout of the living room in order to create a separate space from the dining area; this also brought a more intimate feel for when she is entertaining guests in the living room.  The console was a piece that Molly already owned which we moved behind the sofa to serve two functions: as a bar for entertaning  and as a spot to provide more reading light when sitting on the sofa.

The pillows bring in some more color; they were custom made using the following fabrics:

The side table added a fun pop of color; the lamp and small dish were antique fair finds.

We added curtains to bring in more softness and to tie in the blue accent pieces.

The dining area before:

The dining area was pushed against the wall and rarely used, even though one of Molly’s favorite things is to have friends over.  I wanted to provide a more inviting space for them to sit before heading out on the town.

Dining area after:

The scalloped round table has an iron base and the turquoise Napoleon chairs are also iron.  The mirror that is now against the wall is also scalloped matching the shape of the wooden tabletop.  The table and chairs were found at separate antique fairs but I think they fit each other perfectly.  The cowhide blends in to the floor so that it does not compete with the pop of color in the chairs, but rather provides softness between the floor and table and chairs.

If Molly and her friends are planning on having a long dinner at the dining table, they can bring the pillows over from the sofa for added comfort and style.

One of the issues with Molly’s awesome apartment was the lack of light.  She is on the ground floor with a gate out front so the natural light is at a minimum.  We brought in two new lights to the living room area and changed out pendant lights above the kitchen from outdated thick yellow glass tear drop pendants to new thin, clear glass, globe lights from West Elm.  The globe pendants allowed for a great deal more light to shine through.  We also changed the paint color to a soft gray with blue undertones which brought in more light.

If you are interested in my design services, please e-mail me at katecollinsinteriors@gmail.com

Entry filed under: My Design Projects.

Design Shoppe Love Letter to Chicago

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  June 24, 2010 at 9:43 AM

    Looks great Kate! Congrats!

    Reply
  • 3. Graham Belchers  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:05 AM

    The room looks incredible. I am so proud of you. Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:26 AM

    Wow, from drab (no offense Molly) to FAB! I love it, excellent work! You’re an inspiration!

    Reply
  • 7. Erin  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    I love it! Well done Kate. You have a fabulous eye. The space is charming, sophisticated, and welcoming. Where did you find the adorable wing back chairs?!

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 24, 2010 at 11:01 AM

      Thank you! What a great compliment – it means a lot to me. I got the chairs from Arhause in Chicago but they have an online store.

      Reply
  • 9. caitlin  |  June 24, 2010 at 10:44 AM

    Looks awesome Kate…and ditto, where are the arm chairs from. I love them!!! Nice work!

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 24, 2010 at 11:03 AM

      Thank you! I’m so happy you like it. I love the arm chairs as well (I wanted one for my desk chair).

      Reply
  • 11. Glynnis  |  June 24, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    Great job Kate.

    Reply
  • 13. bridget  |  June 24, 2010 at 12:12 PM

    love the dining room chair. love love love.

    Reply
  • 15. Joe Imwalle  |  June 24, 2010 at 6:19 PM

    I’m impressed.

    Reply
  • 16. Alice  |  June 24, 2010 at 9:31 PM

    Kate – I love the two new chairs in the living room! Where did you get them?? I also love the blue dining room chairs. Great job!

    Reply
  • 17. Christine  |  June 25, 2010 at 7:56 AM

    HOLY MOLY!!! that is AWESOME! i loooove seeing before/afters and especially love seeing the ones designed by you – you are WAY too talented missy. seriously, you did an awesome job! can you fly to aus and do my place???? 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 25, 2010 at 9:46 AM

      Thank you!! I’d love to fly to aussie and do your place. I love Australia so much and my sister in law (who is from there) always comes back with the greatest things!

      Reply
  • 19. Beatrice  |  June 25, 2010 at 7:57 AM

    All I can say is, “Oh my gosh! That Kate has talent”
    I know that your client Molly must love coming home to such a put together nest. Did you sell Molly your crab?

    Reply
    • 20. katecollinsinteriors  |  June 25, 2010 at 9:47 AM

      Thank you so much, Bea! I always appreciate your support. I didn’t sell Molly my crab usually on the table is the white tray with the blue and white candlestick and two remote controls. I took out the remote controls and added my crab for the shoot. Remote controls didn’t really go with the whole design aesthetic.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


