Vintage Tennis Racket Mirrors

May 18, 2010 at 9:26 AM 3 comments

I’m sorry for the delay in posting today.  I’m trying to catch up on everything after a weekend away, so today’s post will be short and sweet.  I wanted to show this great DIY project I saw on Apartment Therapy a couple of months ago.  The project takes vintage tennis rackets or badminton rackets and turns them into mirrors.  Check out how cute they turn out!

tennis_031510.jpg

My mom has plenty of vintage, wooden badminton rackets from our badminton court.  But if you’re not so lucky check out e-bay for vintage tennis rackets.

Then you can do this simple DIY

* Take a the racket to a glass shop and ask for a custom-cut beveled-edge mirror that fits inside the rim.

* Squeeze Liquid Nails Mirror Adhesive onto the back of the mirror.

* Firmly press it onto the strings (be sure to protect your work surface with newspaper).

* Let the adhesive dry overnight before hanging your new tennis racket mirror from a nail.

I’m loving this look for spring and summer.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Reiter 8 Interior Shutters

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John  |  May 18, 2010 at 4:45 PM

    The tennis mirrors look pretty great. I should have thought of that. We just so happen to sell ols vintage racquets on our website. So please encourge anyone to visit our site. Click SPORTS DECO, then click TENNIS, scroll to the bottom and you will see that we have several hundred racquets for sale.

    Best regards,
    John
    Wood-Joy

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley Austin  |  May 19, 2010 at 8:49 PM

    I love this! I am definitely going to convert my vintage tennis rackets! Thanks so much for this post.

    Ashley

    Reply
  • 3. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 20, 2010 at 6:43 AM

    Isn’t it cool? That is so great! BTW, are you around this weekend?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


