Striped Ceiling

May 13, 2010 at 8:49 AM 10 comments

Recently, I’ve been thinking about baby nurseries.  I’m not pregnant.  And I don’t have any clients looking for nursery help, but it’s been on the brain.  I like to chalk the recent obsession up to 30 staring me in the face and the approaching move closer to mom and my in-laws.

I love the idea of going bold with the ceiling color in a nursery or child’s room or playroom.  Of course, such a choice does not need to be limited to those rooms but I love the excuse to play up fantasy in design when dealing with children’s room.  You can go bold, bring in primary colors and even throw in a circus theme.  The idea of painting a ceiling in striped colors came about when Jenna Lyons, son’s room was featured in “Domino Magazine.”  It has stuck in my mind since.

Here are some examples of what I’m talking about.  What do you think?  Can you handle it?  Or is it all just too dizzying?

My initial inspiration – anything Jenna Lyons does in my mind is perfection.

I love how she made this look like a canopy tent – designer Carelton Varney

Another fun example of the canopy ceiling in a bathroom.

What fun!  I think that the curtains are too much personally but I’m loving the ceiling – designer Sharon Taylor.

You can achieve this look with paint or with wallpaper on the ceiling.  Again, I would suggest hiring a painter because painting the ceiling perfectly is difficult to do especially since it all drips down.  And I’ve heard that you can’t use painter’s tape on ceilings because there is not sheet rock and so the surface is more porous.  I don’t know the exact science behind it but I would do some research before embarking on this DIY.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Vintage Bicycle in your Home Las Vegas Here I come…Again

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Graham Belchers  |  May 13, 2010 at 10:36 AM

    In my opinion, I think it only works if the paint color is subtle. For example, I like the second one because the blue was pale and not shouting for attention. That was unlike the green which was way too bold for my taste.

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 13, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    I hear ya on that one, babe. Nice design input!

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:54 AM

    I like the stripes very much in the canopy effect with softer shades that are easy on the eye. I would think you’d have to choose the room carefully and a bathroom or bedroom work nicely.

    Reply
  • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 13, 2010 at 12:11 PM

    I agree. It wouldn’t work for a living room or something like that. But it could be very playful and striking in the correct room.

    Reply
  • 5. Beatrice  |  May 13, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    I love the stripe idea for a nursery; so glad you warned about trying to do it yourself. I hate doing ceilings anyway but wallpaper is a good idea. I have done that on the ceiling.
    This fictitious nursery would look good with one of your slipper chairs.
    Beatrice

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 13, 2010 at 4:02 PM

      I completely agree about the slipper chairs! I had the same thought. I was thinking navy and white striped ceiling and then covering the slipper chair in coral if this fictitious baby is a girl or covering the chair in orange if it’s a boy. Some girls think up baby names, other nurseries…clearly, I’m jumping the gun on this one.

      Reply
  • 7. Alice  |  May 13, 2010 at 2:02 PM

    I adore pic #1. What a great idea!!

    Reply
  • 9. Graham Belchers  |  May 13, 2010 at 4:34 PM

    No more talk about fictitious nurseries….

    Reply
  • 10. DesignTies  |  May 13, 2010 at 7:25 PM

    I do love ceilings painted in colours other than white — but stripes might be a bit OTT!! Although I agree that stripes could be fun in the right room, or if they’re subtle like in the rooms with the canopy effect.

    Kelly @ DesignTies

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


