Slipper Chair

May 4, 2010 at 8:23 AM 4 comments

You may be wondering what a slipper chair is. It is traditionally a low chair with a high back which is armless; it can be great when used as an accent chair in a living room, for a desk, a vanity or in a bedroom. I like to remember slipper chairs as chairs that you can slip right off of because they are missing the arms. However, I believe they received such a name because they are low to the ground and so it was easy for ladies to sit down and take off their slippers. A much more refined answer to the name. I have been admiring slipper chairs recently and I wanted to share some of the photos that have providing me with inspiration. My local Salvation Army has a slipper chair in a bad state for $15 that could be re-upholstered and be a real gem. I’m considering taking the plunge and purchasing the chair; if I do I’ll show you the before and afters.

slipper chairs

Billy Baldwin’s apartment – the slipper chair in white. Photo via: Patricia Gray

Photo via Studio Annetta

Slipper Chair After

Photo Via Southern Living

https://i0.wp.com/eyeonlife.squarespace.com/storage/frieda-babbley/hicks-pink-bedroom.jpg


Photo Via: Before and After Blog

http://s7d5.scene7.com/is/image/PierreDeux/4011946?$ProductPageMain$&1

Belle Slipper Chair available at Pierre Deux for $1,395

Hadley Skirted Slipper Chair: Martha Stewart

Ikat Slipper Chair in Indigo available at Urban Outfitters for $325

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekend Recap New Items in my ETSY shop

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:28 AM

    Kate,
    Go for the Salvation Army chair then study upholstery repair on line. $15.00 is a bargain as long as you can sit in the chair.
    Beatrice

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  May 4, 2010 at 8:45 AM

    The green and white chair in the garage that was in your room and was in my room when I had your room is a slipper chair and is your when you move back.
    Love, Mom
    PS wonderful to talk to you yesterday. Have a happy day.

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:04 AM

    We have a slipper chair in our living room that we call the queen’s chair. Only my mom is allowed to sit in it. Guess who came up with the name!! I love these chairs, no arms means you can squeeze two onto it when necessary!

    Reply
  • 4. Glynnis  |  May 4, 2010 at 10:33 PM

    I love the slipper chairs. Lovely proportions….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 363 other followers


