Shower Time

April 19, 2010 at 6:32 AM 9 comments

This past weekend, I threw a shower for my best friend, Lauren. She is getting married July 17 and I am so excited for her! I hosted a kitchen shower that was a cookie and tea themed where each guest brought a cookie recipe. Lauren lives in Seattle and I live in Chicago so planning for this was a bit of a logistical nightmare. I thought I could be like Mary Poppins and have a teeny tiny bag that would fit tons of supplies. This magical bag did not exist and so I brought a duffel bag filled with six trays, four tea cups and saucers, tissue flower balls, goodie bags, twenty cookie cutters, napkins, forks, coasters, paper plates and candy dishes. I had plans to sew a table runner but life got in the way and I ran out of time. Even though people thought I lost my mind, the hefty load was worth bringing along.

It was a wonderful weekend and I was so happy to spend time with Lauren. We got to go over every little detail for the wedding…and weddings are all about the details. Her big day will be amazing and I am thrilled to be the maid of honor! Stay tuned for pictures of her wedding in July. For now, here are pictures of the shower…

The blushing bride beams in blue.

The table

The tissue balls

Goodies table

 

Lauren enjoying her gifts

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

From my home to Julia’s Forestbound Love

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Graham Belchers  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:38 AM

    All of your hard work paid off. The party looks great.

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  April 19, 2010 at 8:27 AM

    You both look so pretty as does everything you set up. Congrats.

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren  |  April 19, 2010 at 10:59 AM

    Thank you Kate for a wonderful shower!!! The pictures don’t do it justice! It was beautiful and perfect! I am so lucky to have you for a best friend!! Love you!

    Reply
  • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 19, 2010 at 12:36 PM

    Thank you! It was such a great day. I’m glad you loved it, Lo Lo!! You deserve it!

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren (the other one)  |  April 19, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    Kate, the shower was beautiful! Amazing work from across the country… can’t wait to celebrate more in Vegas! And congrats on selling the chair too- woo hoo!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 19, 2010 at 4:37 PM

      Thanks! Thank you so much for your delicious cookies; I had meant to include that in my original post. Your the best!

      Reply
  • 7. Brent  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    Oh my, that bride-to-be is quite a hottie!
    Thanks so much Kate for throwing the party… I am definitely enjoying the leftovers 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Christine  |  April 19, 2010 at 7:34 PM

    awwww how wonderful! congrats lauren, i’m so excited for you!!!! 🙂 and kate, you’re an awesome friend! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. caitlin  |  April 19, 2010 at 10:35 PM

    It was a wonderful shower! Kate, you’re an awesome party planner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 360 other followers


