From my home to Julia’s

April 16, 2010 at 7:17 AM 12 comments

There seems to be a Julie/Julia theme going on in my life right now. First, I watch the movie Julie and Julia which lifted my entrepreneurial/creative spirits. Then, yesterday, Julia Edelmann of Buckingham ID came to my apartment to purchase a chair that I’ve had for sale.

That’s right…she came, she loved, she bought and now my chair will be her office chair. Yippppeeeeeeeee!!

She came to my apartment dressed impeccably. She was so warm and kind. She first walked in and told me that she loved my apartment, pointing to various things that she liked. I gushed with joy and pride. Then, she admired the gray velvet tufted chair and told me her plans for painting the frame a high gloss brown, raising the rollers a bit and using it for her office chair. Wow! Love.

I asked her for advice for starting my own business in the design world and I love what she told me. She said to be shamelessly self promoting. How great! So get ready people. I may have to get shameless. As if hearing from me five days a week isn’t enough? Well, there may be more.

As she was leaving, I gave her a business card with my ETSY address. Later in the day she emailed me and told me that she loved my style and what I sell; she even bought the brown chintz napkin rings

So happy the chair and napkin rings have gone from my home to hers…

My apartment where the chair sat waiting for it’s rightful owner…

Julia’s home. Big difference between the two 🙂 Don’t you just covet her Audrey Hepburn painting and orange armchair…everything about it really?! Julia told me she would e-mail a picture of the finished chair, which I will post as soon as I receive it.

Happy Friday, everyone!! I’m off to Seattle for the weekend – can’t wait to see my girlies. Hope y’all have a splendid weekend and find a chance to admire something beautiful.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Beyond Honored/Excited Shower Time

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice Olivia Blake  |  April 16, 2010 at 7:45 AM

    Yippee for Kate Collins Interiors!!!!!
    You have great style and a real eye. I need to visit the ETSY shop; how did I miss the napkin rings? I wanted the pillows but they were gone before i could order them.
    Beatrice

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:09 AM

    Thank you, Bea! If you click on the word “ETSY” up above in the fifth paragraph where it talks about giving her my business card, it will take you to my site. I don’t know how to add a picture in my reply but you can see the chintz napkin rings at the bottom of my recent post “Flirty Florals for your Home.” If the pillows are gone, that means they were sold. But I can always make more – if the fabric is still around. What fabric did you like? Otherwise, we can e-mail about other potential fabric choices for a custom order just for Beatrice Olivia’s home! Oh and did you see that Julia is painting the Victorian chair? Perhaps that is a sign to go ahead with the coffee table. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. The Neo-Traditionalist  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:12 AM

    Have fun in Seattle! And congrats on the sales! I think I owe you an email…it’s coming. And her Audrey Hepburn print stole my hearts—as did your outfit. How cute are you?!?! xoxo katie

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:59 AM

      Thank you! I love that Audrey Hepburn print as well…one day perhaps I can have something similar. Looking forward to your e-mail.

      Reply
  • 5. Lindsay  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:39 AM

    Congratulations! So exciting. (Although sad for me, b/c I wanted that chair.) hee hee. Have a fab, fab time in Seattle and enjoy some champagne – you earned it!

    Reply
    • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:59 AM

      Thanks! Maybe I’ll find a chair just for you when I’m in the Bay Area. Oooh champagne sounds divine right now and it is 9:59 AM – is that bad?

      Reply
  • 7. caitlin  |  April 16, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    Yay Kate!!! Such a good story!!! See you this weekend! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:00 AM

      Oh, I’m so glad you’ll be at the shower! We have SO much to discuss.

      Reply
  • 9. Jill  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:00 AM

    Way to go Kate! That is a fabulous story. I am so proud of you and your new business! And I agree with Beatrice…more pillows! I need some Belchers pizzaz in my new SF apartment :). See you next weekend! XOXO

    Reply
    • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:02 AM

      Thank you! More pillows it is! I just finished a custom order for my friend Irene which I will be taking to Seattle. We can get wild and crazy in Vegas and talk fabric talk. 🙂 Can’t wait to see you!

      Reply
  • 11. Glynnis  |  April 16, 2010 at 10:51 AM

    What excitement and validation for you. Fantastic.

    Reply
  • 12. Ashley Austin  |  April 16, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    WOW! What an exciting sale!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


