When sparks fly

April 8, 2010 at 7:54 AM 11 comments

Last night I re-watched the movie Julie and Julia with my husband.  It was his first time watching it and my second. A lot has happened since my inagurual viewing of the flick in early November of last year.  The movie follows Julia Child as her career grows and mirrors it with a 29 year old newly married woman, Julie Powell, who decides to cook a Julia Child recipe every day and blog about it for a year.  I was incredibly moved by these two women who went after their dreams and made a life out of personal loves; it actually brought me to tears.  Happy tears.

Mastering the Art of French Cooking [Book] Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously [Book]

I think we can often find ourselves caught in the rat race not really knowing how we got there.  As children, adult life looks glamorous.  They (adults) get to do so many things that we can’t (like drive cars) while we have to slug our way through school day after day.  Then you finally reach adult life and find that driving cars is not all that exciting.  Instead you lug yourself to work day after day.

Yet sometimes something happens in all of us.  The tiniest spark emerges, the thought…hmmm, I could do that.  I’ve had those sparks light before in my life and I’ve simply left them in the dark to slowly burn out.

But after losing my father, I made a commitment to follow my dreams.  I’ve become Julia Child and Julie Powell.  No, I’m not a household name.  And I don’t forsee a book deal from this blog.  But I have allowed this spark to brighten and it has warmed my soul.

There was a very long period in my life when I would stand in the shower (my thinking place) and stressfully consider, “if I just get through X and X and X then one day I can finally have y”.  I was standing there drowning in To Do’s.  My To Do list is now longer then ever and just yesterday I had a major breakdown as my sewing machine seemed to eat my very expensive, end of the roll fabric.  Yet breakdowns and all, I can say that I AM happy.  These are to do’s that I create for myself.  This is the path that I want to take.

One other thing that came across in the movie was the wonderful support of Julia and Julie’s husbands.  Guess who has been adding fuel to my spark all along?  Graham.  My hubby.  The man who said you can do this and who says, “I’m proud of you” just about every day.  I am a very lucky woman.

I may not be letting off the savory smells of beef bougionon, rather the aggressive smells of paint fumes, but to me it is the sweet, sweet smell of love.  I am proud to be following in the steps of Julia and Julie.

I want to thank my dad for always encouraging me to dream big.  From one dreamer to another, thank you, dad.  I love you.

Just another day at the office – photo taken in front of Home Depot.

Entry filed under: Life Lessons. Tags: , , , , .

New Items in my ETSY Shop Happy Friday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  April 8, 2010 at 8:37 AM

    Beautifully written.

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis  |  April 8, 2010 at 9:09 AM

    Beautifully written Kate. Two pretty impressive men in your life!

    Reply
  • 3. Katy  |  April 8, 2010 at 10:29 AM

    You’re the cutest! I love you and all the happiness you bring to your life and mine!

    Reply
  • 4. Lacey  |  April 8, 2010 at 10:31 AM

    Loving your blog and those glasses!

    Reply
    • 5. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 8, 2010 at 10:37 AM

      Thank you! They were four bucks at CVS and I told Graham they were too killer to pass up. I think killer is the best word for them. 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 8, 2010 at 10:36 AM

    Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 7. Christine  |  April 8, 2010 at 7:53 PM

    this is a really beautiful post kate… and i think we’re VERY lucky to have such supportive hubbys… PS i wish my office was home depot too. 🙂 xoxo

    Reply
    • 8. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 8, 2010 at 9:21 PM

      Thank you! You have been an inspiration to me. I even contacted the people who designed your new blog but they are all booked for a few months so I went with someone else. Home depot is the best but I wish my office was the beautiful locations you shoot at! 🙂

      Reply
      • 9. Christine  |  April 11, 2010 at 8:38 PM

        oh what a bummer that renee was all booked out – she is AMAZING. 🙂 but i’m sure your blog is gonna kick ass!!! i can’t wait to see all the changes!

  • 10. Don Imwalle  |  April 9, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    great post. glasses are too much. . . . does that show my generational gap?

    Reply
    • 11. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 9, 2010 at 5:29 PM

      No! They are joke glasses/party glasses. I bought them for $4.00. I usually don’t wear them around the streets but I couldn’t find my real glasses that day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 361 other followers


