Closet to Changing Nook: Before and After

January 30, 2013 at 5:20 AM 10 comments

Today is a very fun before and after for myself since I’ll be spending a ton of time here.  The nursery is such a small room that it used to be Graham’s changing room.  He kept all of his work clothes in the closet and would change in there since he gets up at 5:00 AM for work and that way I can continue sleeping.  Well, his closet and dressing room have been completely and officially transformed into a nursery.  The final piece was changing this…

photo-379

Into this…

IMG_1504I really love the way that it turned out and I feel as though the wallpaper makes all the difference in the world

IMG_1506

On one level I’ve got her changing pad and a box with diapers, wipes and cream so that I can easily access them when she gets squirmy.  The top level baskets hold extra diapers/wipes, bibs and burp cloths, swaddles and onesies.  I figure those are the things that I’ll want to access the quickest at the changing station.  And if I find I’m wrong, I’ll just switch out the system.  Below her changing table, we’ve got her hanging clothes and her growing shoe collection…

IMG_1509

I can also fit her diaper genie inside the closet or just right outside of it but y’all didn’t need to see a diaper genie.

IMG_1514

I had quite a few doubters when I wanted to swap the closet into a changing station.  But, I’m glad that I stuck to my guns.  Now, those doubters get it and have even said, “where would we have fit a changing table or dresser?”  Ummm…yeah, in this case, mamma knows best.   :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Apartment Therapy: January Cure Bedroom Inspiration

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Williams  |  January 30, 2013 at 8:58 AM

    Such a good space saving idea, love the wall paper!

    Reply
  • 2. Beatrice  |  January 30, 2013 at 9:00 AM

    What a lucky little girl! The room is adorable and the changing station was a brilliant idea. I love the wallpaper, the monkey lamp, the shades, the rocker, everything. Can’t wait to welcome the baby girl.

    Reply
  • 3. dmm  |  January 30, 2013 at 9:49 AM

    The changing station is wonderful; practical. . . brilliant idea! If there’s any of the gorgeous wallpaper left, might you paper the shelves? BGB would have a lovely view as she gazes upward. . .

    Reply
    • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  January 30, 2013 at 10:47 AM

      Thank you!! I wish there was enough to paper the shelves. It would be so pretty! But, I actually ran out of paper and I didn’t have enough for one of the bottom walls in the closet. Oops! I’m tempted to splurge on another roll.

      Reply
  • 5. Katie Waddell  |  January 30, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    Kate this looks fantastic!

    Reply
  • 6. Glynnis Belchers  |  January 30, 2013 at 12:46 PM

    Looking good…

    Reply
  • 7. blue hydrangea  |  January 30, 2013 at 1:29 PM

    love, love, love!! And you are right, the wallpaper makes it!!

    Reply
  • 8. Lauren  |  January 31, 2013 at 12:30 AM

    I love it! It really turned out great.

    Reply
  • 9. Erin  |  January 31, 2013 at 8:48 PM

    Well done Kate!

    Reply
  • 10. I Feel Free « Courcy Inspired Design  |  February 18, 2013 at 5:17 AM

    [...] your own baby changing nook (attn: small space [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 314 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

