January Cure Update

January 22, 2013 at 8:12 AM 2 comments

Boy oh boy, sorry for the radio silence.  Graham was away in New York for business and I was commuting between my apartment and my mom’s home to sleep just in case I went into early labor.  No worries though, no early labor for me.  She is still cooking.

Anyway, I thought I’d update all of you with the Apartment Therapy January Cure.  Not sure if these posts are incredibly boring but they help to keep me motivated and on track.

Day 8: Weekend chores – Flowers, Kitchen Cleaning and Make Yourself a Meal

So I failed at getting flowers or making myself a meal but I did organize my pantry with some wonderful help by my awesome cousin, Allie.  Thank you for taking pity on me, Allie!!  9 months pregnant, I’ll take all the help I can get.

Here is what the pantry looked like before…yikes!  Can’t believe I’m putting this out there -

photo-368

And Currently…

photo-372

Aren’t baskets the best organizational tool ever?  Each basket contains a different theme or items…i.e. baking supplies, etc.

Day 9: Create a landing strip

I actually have been working on this landing strip since beginning of January.  Here is how our little nook once you walk up the stairs used to look like pre-nursery…

photo-370

And here is where we are currently at…

IMG_1477

I know…nothing exciting but practical.  I moved the dresser into the nursery and changed the area to a bench with storage boxes below (we each get a basket).  I also have a bench seat cushion with beautiful John Robshaw fabric being made.  I went out and purchased five of these Anthropologie antler melody hooks to put above the bench.  I also understand the dog is crowding in on the bench but I love our little dog and I’m running out of space.

25039462_014_b

Handyman Graham attempted to put the hooks up for us only to find that our walls weren’t really meant for hooks (they are pre-1906 walls).  What are we to do now?  I was counting on those hooks for organization.

Day 10: Work on your goal project

20663_XXX_v1-w500

This day was perfect timing for me since we had the bed above being delivered from Cost Plus World Market so one more piece of my goal project…beautify master bedroom is complete.  I love the bed and I can’t wait to improve my bedding now.

Day 11: Try a media fast

This was also great timing on my end because I’ve been living down at my moms and so busy that I didn’t turn on the TV once the entire week.  I have to say that I didn’t miss it one bit.  I also don’t go on the computer at night when I’m trying to wind down.  It’s awesome to get away from technology sometimes.

Day 12: Declutter Books and Media

_mg_9801-1

Graham and I had already done this in the beginning of January so it was a free day for me.  I used to have the hardest time giving away books but our house was too filled with books.  We now give away any book that wasn’t that special or enjoyable to us.  And you know what?  I don’t miss them.  What about you?  Do you ever donate your books?

This past weekend – Deep clean bedroom and buy flowers.

This was a part of my bigger project goal so it was nice to spend time cleaning.  My bedroom finally feels like it has some order to it and it’s one step closer to being finished.  One thing I cleaned up was my bedside table.  That gets cluttered so fast for me…

 

photo-371I’m very pleased with my new bedside table which I got at Home Goods.  As you can see, I don’t have a lot of room for a side table but this one gets the job done with plenty of space for books and a nice flat surface for water and for bottles one day soon.  Oh and once again I failed at getting flowers.  Seriously, I need to treat myself to some flowers!  Happy Tuesday, everyone.  I hope you enjoyed the long weekend!  Go Niners!!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Map Dress My New Niece

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bridget  |  January 22, 2013 at 11:16 AM

    love the updates! regarding the hooks, if graham can find studs in the wall you could attach the hooks to a peice of wood (even just paint a 1′ by 6′ the same color as the wall or an accent color), attach the hooks to the wood and hang the whole thing by attaching it to the studs. love those hooks!

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  January 22, 2013 at 1:48 PM

    Impressive Kate. It’ll be even more impressive if it stays like that after the baby arrives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 293 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

