January Cure

January 11, 2013 at 5:07 AM 1 comment

Have you ever done the Apartment Therapy January Cure?  I read it every year and kind of mentally check off what I should be doing but I never actually follow along.  This month, I’m going to try to tackle all of the tasks.  We are 7 days into the cure and I’ve been on a roll so far.

138696863493663964_mzOuhmLt_c

Day 1: Make a list of projects – done and done.  You have to break up projects per room and then pick 3-5 projects per room.

Totally boring but here is my list

Dining Room – chair seat cushions made, fix Ikea Bookshelf

Family Room – Move items from closet down to storage to make room for baby stuff

Entryway – Change out mini blinds, stairwell gallery wall, hooks for entryway storage

Bathroom – Organize storage baskets

Nursery – Changing closet paint or wallpaper, lamp complete, stylize bookshelf

Bedroom – Better bedside tables, headboard, wallpaper, lumbar pillow, monogram shams

Kitchen – Organize pantry, cut down ends of knobs

Breakfast Nook – Upholster bench seat

Sunroom – Create storage corner for toys and baby gear

104356916335217808_eS36jr4h_c

Day 2: Set up your outbox.  

This is a pile of things that you need to thow away or donate.  I’ve created my pile and will be headed to Goodwill this weekend.

85920305360961927_jdRcbuTn_c

Day 3: Flowers, Floors, Green Cleaners and Outbox.

This day is basically about deep cleaning the floors and apartment and getting flowers.  I deep cleaned but failed at getting flowers.

19210735880327531_aW0hrY49_c

Day 4: Get a fresh perspective in 10 Minutes

This was interesting it’s about sitting in a problem area of your home for ten minutes and just thinking about the flow and what can be changed.  I did this with my bedroom and I’m hoping changes are coming my way.  It’s not good that my own bedroom is by far and away my least favorite room in the house.  Can you say neglected?

8233211788635997_mNS9N2jp_c

Day 5: Select One project from your list to complete this month

Instead of dealing with the humongous list of To Do’s just deal with one.  My one project I would like to deal with is my bedroom which means putting up temporary wallpaper, purchasing a new headboard and getting effective side tables (I had a pouf and you can’t put a glass of water or a bottle on a pouf).  I found a cute Moroccan side table at Home Goods and it is my new bedside table to be stylized.  One bit of the project is checked off.

Entry and Stair Hall 2010 Washington DC Design House

SCW Interiors

Day 6: Choose a piece of artwork and get it framed.

This may seem like cheating but I already needed to do this for the nursery.  I’ve framed out the cutest map dress that I’ll be sharing with you on Monday.  Checked that off the list.

219972763018858346_bilHAoqM_c

Day 7: Get your get together.

This is to invite people over for Feb. 1 – 3rd to show off your new spring clean.  This is great in theory but I’ll be really really close to labor.  So I’m thinking my invite will be to family and friends when our little one arrives and at that point I won’t care at all what my apartment looks like.

Do you have any interest in doing the January Cure?  If so, have you started?  I’d love to know how it’s going!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bookshelves for Small Spaces Map Dress

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  January 12, 2013 at 1:20 AM

    kate you would be so proud I am actually doing these things. I did a huge trip to goodwill and our guest bedroom looks SO much better. this post was helpful though as I have a lot more to do. it is kind of addicting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 304 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

