Glider: Before and After

December 12, 2012 at 5:07 AM 4 comments

Remember when I had my dang eye twitch and it all seemed to revolve around the glider?  I just couldn’t find one that was comfortable, gave good back support, I could rest my head on it, was compact and good looking.  It was one of those impossible gets that sometimes a client will put a request in for and I feel like a miracle worker when I pull through.

Well, with the glider, I searched my little ever growing bum off from vintage to custom and nothing was working for me.  I was just about to pull the trigger on this Serena and Lily glider when I decided to look through Craigslist one last time…

With a final peruse on Craigslist, I happened upon this bad boy for $150.  What I loved about it was the tight back that was tall enough for neck support and straight enough to sit up when feeding but also comfortable to sit in for hours.  I also loved that it wasn’t as deep or wide as the hundreds of other versions I saw out there and the price was very enticing as well.

The only kicker was the fabric.  It really wasn’t doing anything for me and it wasn’t in any way going to fit into my nursery scheme.  The low price on the glider, justified a fabric make over.  A little trip to my upholstery shop and here’s where she’s at now…

I spent a long time looking at really fun Lulu DK kids fabrics.  This one was the major contender for a very long time.

In the end, practicality won out.  The brown is a virtually indestructible fabric and then I got to have my bit of fun with the skirt trim which is a Lulu DK twix tape.  I also love that if we are blessed with a boy next, we can easily remove the trim at the skirt and change that out to the blue or green color way that it also comes in.  Then you’ve got an easy boy glider.

There was a flash of thought to add in button tufting on the back but again practicality won out.  I didn’t want the buttons to be potentially pulled off by a rambunctious little toddler and if they were pulled off, they could be a choking hazard.

Now, I’ve got a kid friendly glider that I love too.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Round Here Happy Friday!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  December 12, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    The look is perfect and that trim on the bottom couldn’t be better—it will look nice with the flower photo.

    Reply
  • 2. Ann Williams  |  December 12, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    So cute! Love a good craigslist “before and after” and that you are making practical choices for nursery items that are still cute. Love seeing your nursery come together!

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis Belchers  |  December 12, 2012 at 11:27 AM

    Love it!

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  December 12, 2012 at 4:02 PM

    I’m in love. Forget S&L, yours is even more chic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 305 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

