Welcome to the Team

December 5, 2012 at 8:35 AM 4 comments

I am giddy about today’s post because I have a very special announcement to make.  My very talented, extremely fashionable, design obsessed cousin, Allie, has joined Kate Collins Interiors.

I am so excited to have her on board.  She’s already been working with me for over a month now and she has brought so much to the table.  She has an incredible eye, a creative nature and an easy going, positive can do attitude.  I have to tell you that my days have been a lot happier since bringing her on board, just ask my husband how much less stressed and cranky I am.

Without further ado, I’d love to let you know more about this super star Allie with a little Q and A session…

Q: What furniture piece are you currently dreaming of?

A:  A canopy bed…

Q: Who is a designer that you look up to?

A:  Always been a HUGE Kathryn Ireland fan, actually, she’s pretty much my hero! Its causal, yet pulled together, eclectic but styled, french, country, and beachy (what else is there in life?) whimsical though traditional at times. To me, her style is “lived in” which when it comes to a house, I think is the most important element. Its colorful and cozy, vintage and fun. Love her use of natural wood and soft fabrics (texture master). I could go on and on, but the woman is definitely my design idol.

Q: What do you love to do on the weekends?

A: On the weekends, I love to…

    • go antiquing
    • camp (such a redneck)
    • be by any sort of body of water, preferably on a boat (sailboat, motorboat, yacht, fishing boat) even if it’s just  bobbing around; I think i’m really a pirate at heart
    • horse back riding/attend rodeos (I like to think of myself as a Ralph Lauren Cowgirl)
    • travel
    • take pictures

Q: What is your current favorite color?

A: If I had to choose a favorite, I would go with yellow.

Q: Where are your dream places to go shopping?

A: ABC Carpet and Home is my absolute favorite in the whole world! After that, it would definitely be the street markets in Italy and Southern France, I’ve found some real treasures there.

You are all in for a treat because Allie shared some photos of her camper van.  Yes, she has even packed her camper van to the brim with style.  Take a look at Allie’s gorgeous work…

Knowing that a first impression makes a big impact, Allie painted the door pink -

This sets the tone for the girly with an punk edge feeling she created inside…

DSC_2086

I love the turquoise and white cabinets with the glass knobs.  She did all the cabinetry painting herself.  I adore how her bed mixes the sweetness of floral with the edge of a skull pillow and the british flag.  Now, that is a camper van that I would go camping in any day of the week.  Can you even call it camping when you’re staying in such a cute van?!

Welcome to the team, Allie!!  Thanks for making my days so sunny, even when it is pouring rain outside.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bedroom Mood Boards Living Room Project Reveal

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miles  |  December 5, 2012 at 1:28 PM

    Yeah Allie! Welcome to the team.

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  December 5, 2012 at 1:35 PM

    Go Allie! I know you’ll be a great addition, I’m sure you all make quite the dynamic duo!

    Reply
  • 3. bridget  |  December 5, 2012 at 2:37 PM

    that is one good looking and stylish assistant you have there, kate.

    Reply
  • 4. Ashley  |  December 5, 2012 at 4:15 PM

    Sounds like a match made in design heaven.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 299 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 299 other followers

