Thanksgiving Recap

November 27, 2012 at 9:45 AM 3 comments

As I said yesterday, the long weekend away was a blast.  I thought I’d share some photos from the holiday today.

We arrived late Wednesday night to our ranch and the houses were filled with chatter as our extended family reconnected with each other.  Thursday morning we had to get the barn prepared for Thanksgiving dinner.  Mom and I set the table using foliage from around the ranch.

An in progress shot…

The table set and ready

The pie table

Remember how I said Graham wouldn’t have to do any more DIY until early January?  Well, I lied.  Thursday morning he was up on a ladder with some nails putting up a boxwood garland on the barn door.

Graham did the hanging while my mom, sister-in-law and I directed on hanging the swags to the perfect level.  It was a job well done.

That night consisted of delicious food, thankful toasts, raucous laughter, singing and a dance party!  My sister-in-law and I are a month apart in pregnancy so we dressed exactly alike for dinner, naturally.

We had been planning this little outfit since July and it was so much fun to finally be able to wear together.

Friday consisted of a morning porcini hike for dinner that night.  Then we were off to the beach for some fun in the beautiful weather and to watch the little ones jump in the water.

Saturday, was a mellow day of mini walks, hanging in the sun, eating, and games of go-fish during the twilight hour.

Sunday, we left the ranch to meet up with Graham’s family for their tradition of cutting down a Christmas tree.  I absolutely love this tradition and I feel lucky to be able to be a part of it.

The men, and Lindsay, getting ready for the big Christmas tree cut down.  We all made it home with beautiful trees.

After all the hard work of cutting down trees Luke was a tuckered tiger…

Thanks for bearing through my little recap.  I hope you had a fabulous Thanksgiving and enjoyed the long weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Cyber Monday Accent Chair: Before and After

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  November 27, 2012 at 11:47 AM

    Wait, wait, wait…your family owns a ranch? How cool is that! Looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with lots of family–and we all know there’s nothing better than that.

    Reply
  • 2. Glynnis Hayward  |  November 27, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    Lovely post Kate. And it was a lovely weekend – you’re right about that too.

    Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  November 27, 2012 at 3:44 PM

    It IS my FAVORITE holiday. Lots of fantastic family, fun, food. Love, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 312 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

