Sunday Work Day

November 20, 2012 at 5:01 AM 3 comments

Graham had to do his fourth DIY project on a Sunday.  I’m sure he’s loving this new role as weekend handyman.  Luckily, for him and for our marriage, we will be busy through the holidays and he won’t be doing any house projects until after the new year.  Then, it’s back on for Handyman Graham.

After a couple of trips to the hardware store, a few expletives and some very sweet observations on my need to micro-manage, the shade was up.  I absolutely love it!  The lighting isn’t coming through correctly on my I-phone so the paint is looking a little off color.  But, in person it’s much better.

I’m especially smitten with the billy ball trim…

There was a debate on whether to do white billy ball trim or pink pom pom trim.  There is a part of me that wishes I went pink but really there’s no turning back now so love the one you’re with…right?  From a practicality stand point, the room gets about ten times darker with the black out shade then it did with the existing mini blinds.

Now, I’m pretty sure everyone will think I’m off my rocker on this one but the next mini project will be getting this candlestick made into a lamp…

I bought it at Goodwill well before I was pregnant with the thought that it would be the perfect lamp for a nursery.  It is probably what inspired the chinoiserie theme I’ve got going on in there.  When I bought it, one lady who worked there picked it up and commented on how strange (not in a good way) the piece was.  Then another lady who I thought was very well dressed for someone pushing her 80s came over and said, “Oh isn’t that fabulous?”  That was all the confirmation that I needed.  It may not have won over your heart but it did win over mine and perhaps when it’s all transformed into a lamp and sitting on a side table next to the glider you’ll be on team “fabulous” as well.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

What A Day! Rustic Thanksgiving Tables

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Glynnis Belchers  |  November 20, 2012 at 11:10 AM

    Looks lovely. Well done Team Belchers.

    Reply
  • 2. lauren  |  November 20, 2012 at 6:47 PM

    love the shade! I see your vision for lamp…cant wait to see it done!

    Reply
  • 3. The Vintique Object  |  November 20, 2012 at 11:15 PM

    Kate, I love the candle holder/lamp. And that shade is ridiculously fabulous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 306 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

