What A Day!

November 16, 2012 at 9:14 AM 5 comments

Do you ever have one of those unexpectedly awesome days?  It’s not like anything extraordinary happens but it’s just one of those feel good days.  That’s what yesterday was for me.

First thing in the morning, I dropped by my seamstress to pick up some pillows for a client and I found out that my nursery roman shade was ready.  It was a very exciting treat!  I was tempted to blow off all of my meetings and spend the day admiring the shade but I forged on.

Roman shade not actually installed and in terrible lighting…better shots to come.

My car was on empty but I didn’t want to be late to my meeting so I decided head to Los Altos from Pacific Heights and ignore the “e” sign.  Well, I made it to Woodside when the gas needle was well below the empty sign and the mileage tracker said I had 5 miles of gas left.  I was still about a mile and a half away from the exit and then I had to actually make it to the station from there.  It was a nail biting situation but I made it.

Why was this such a great thing?  Well, because it gave me an opportunity to think of my dad and how I was doing him proud.  Dad never took life seriously and it can be seen in the advice he gave to us kids over and over.  “Start ugly early and trade your way up;” “college is the longest, most expensive vacation of your life” and “don’t marry anyone who hasn’t run out of gas.”  Hilarious but there was hidden wisdom in all of it.  For the record, I think all of us have married people that have never run out of gas and my mom (who my dad obviously married and loved very much) has never run out of gas.  She rarely even has her car get to empty.  But, dad liked that running out of gas showed you took risks.  I think he was smiling from heaven on my risky pull into the gas station on pure fumes.

From the gas station, I was off to my first meeting.  We had a chandelier delivery that was coming that morning.  The box showed up and it was as big as a house.  I’m talking huge.  It was so huge that I made Allie pose in it and she happily obliged.

 It’s moments like these when it’s so wonderful to have a good chuckle.  I absolutely love working with Allie and I’ll give her a proper introduction on the blog as soon as I get a photo from her…ahem, Allie!  The meeting was also very successful where we nailed down some beautiful fabrics for drapes and a custom bench.

From there, we were off to our next meeting.  It was a meeting with a new client; we introduced mood boards for her living room.  She was great to work with and I’m very excited with where things are headed.  Somewhere in this general direction, with tweaks…

After that meeting, we popped by my mom’s home because she arrived back from Morocco yesterday.  She was so happy and she looked fabulous, complete with a henna tattoo (go Mom, so Madonna of you).  We had a great conversation about the design that she fell in love with in Morocco…pearl inlay mirrors, large lace chandeliers, Moroccan wedding blankets.  It was like she hit every major thing that is trending right now.  So wish I could have been with her.

She brought back this lovely pouf for baby girl…

I love it!  And boy is it authentic…straight down to the smells of the souk.  It carries a special meaning and it’ll be fun to have in there.  But, first it’s getting a good cleaning with the shoe/leather expert.

Once I got home, I went out to meet Heather Clawson.  I was in awe.  She is even more chic in person!  It was great to chit chat with others in the design community as well, like Crystal, of Rue Magazine.  She and I first met in Chicago, when Crystal was about to go live with her first issue and I was toying with the idea of opening a decorating business.  It’s fun to see where we both are at now and to spend some time catching up.

When I got home, Graham had Pandora playing.  And randomly “American Pie” came on.  “American Pie” is hands down my dad’s song…it was kind of our thing.  For all six months of my engagement we tried to figure out how to make that our father/daughter dance without boring the crowd to tears for the full 10 minutes of song.  As Graham’s I-Phone let out the sweet tune of Don Mclean, I sang every word and danced away on our kitchen floor dance floor.  In my mind, it was dad, me and baby girl having our first dance.  As the birth approaches, I miss him more every day.  So, it was nice to feel him there yesterday, checking in to say hi.

Happy Friday everyone!  May the good days keep on coming!  Fingers crossed!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Habitually Chic Sunday Work Day

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bridget  |  November 16, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    Truly sounds like one of those great days:) love the cosmic hellos from don and the giant cardboard box!

    Reply
  • 2. don  |  November 16, 2012 at 10:56 AM

    For the record, my wife Lucy has definitely run out of gas – maybe even more times than I have – and still comes close with 3 kids in the car! Great post kate. Glad to hear you and Allie are having fun.

    Reply
  • 3. Glynnis Hayward  |  November 16, 2012 at 11:30 AM

    I love happy! Keep it coming…

    Reply
  • 4. Katy  |  November 16, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    Love all the love in this post! Mostly love the dance floor scenario!

    Reply
  • 5. Lauren  |  November 16, 2012 at 11:47 PM

    Loved your post today. Brent has run out of gas–more than once!! Probably not a surpise to you. Would make your dad proud! I love hearing all his sage advice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 294 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

