Project Reveal: Office Before and After

November 6, 2012 at 9:24 AM 3 comments

You followed along with me at various points of an office that I was working on for an absolutely wonderful family.  And then, I stopped short of showing you the final images.  Why would I be such a tease?  Well, because I can’t take photos for the life of me…AT ALL.  My I-Phone wasn’t doing the final pictures any justice.  I have a fabulous new design associate on my team (more on her awesomeness later) and she has an interest and natural talent in photography.  Score for me!!  With no further ado, I’d love to share the photos that Allie took.

Here is the BEFORE:

We removed the bench that you see in the top photo because it wasn’t comfortable and it wasn’t getting used.  We then took the Ikea bookshelf from under the window and moved it to the wall where the bench was.  My client had the task of going through all toys and books in the room and removing any that were no longer used by their kids.  This cut down on the clutter and I stylized the bookshelf with a mix of their books and some little toys and decorative pieces.  I also put a really sweet art piece above the bookshelf to anchor the space and to finish off the room.

In place of where the bookshelf and toys used to be, we put a custom settee to fit under the window.  We also added on custom roman shades which brought so much visual interest and really finished off the room.  By removing the clutter and changing the layout, we were able to add a lucite coffee table.  Now the two little girls of the house can sit on a couch and watch a movie on the coffee table from their laptops.  If they get chilly, they can always pull a blanket out from the beachcomber basket.

The four drastic changes that really helped to shape the room were the new desk chairs which are really the focal point as soon as you walk in the room; the window treatments and the fun pattern that plays off of the morovian star pendant light; the bigger rug (the cute rug before was just too small and so it chopped up the room and it made it feel smaller) and the biggest change of all was the paint.  Paint can make a huge difference in a house.  The lighter colors made the room feel 10 times brighter then the navy and the striped added a really fun element to the office.

Some close ups…

These chairs are one of my all time favorite vintage finds.  My client is a lucky duck to have them as they are one of a kind gems.  Happy she’s happy!

It’s always fun to have personal elements to a room and that’s why I love this beautiful painting..

My client’s daughter is an amazing artist.   She did this beautiful cat piece and the cute one of the two dogs from Lady and the Tramp on the Ikea bookshelf.  I love how her cat looks hung up on the stripes.

This room was so much fun to work on.  Now, we’re working on finishing up her dining/family room and front entrance….before and afters to come.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Weekend Recap Going for It

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice  |  November 6, 2012 at 9:42 AM

    Absolutely fabulous and I do love those chairs—lucky client. The photographs are also wonderful; so glad that you have an associate helping you out.

    Reply
  • 2. Specky and Sally (@SpeckyandSally)  |  November 6, 2012 at 9:54 AM

    Wonderful work, Kate! I love the color palette you chose and am SWOONING over those chairs.

    Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  November 6, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    So good! What a fun place to be productive. Can you email me the details of the blue and green artwork over the Ikea shelves? I have to know more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 298 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

