Dreaming of a Four Post Bed

October 24, 2012 at 5:01 AM 1 comment

Remember my headboard that I purchased for our previous apartment.  I had it shipped out from Florida but I didn’t want to pay an arm and a leg for shipping so it took months for them to ship it out.  I loved the headboard and it served me really well in our previous apartment…

Our Old Apartment Bedroom

It was perfect there but it just doesn’t work in our current apartment.  We have really tall ceilings, like 14 ft. ceilings and I want something that speaks to the height.  The Faux Bamboo headboard is a low profile, which worked great for our previous apartment’s 8 ft. ceilings.  What to do?  Sell this one and purchase a canopy bed off of Craigslist, of course.  I already have my eye on one but I’ve promised Graham that I would sell this one first.  Any takers?  She’s a beaut.  Queen size.  E-mail me if interested and you live in the bay area…kate@katecollinsinteriors.com

Why canopy or 4 poster bed?  Well, because it will show off the fabulous height of the bedroom.  And because I’m feeling inspired but what others have done with a four poster bed…

Ideally, I would find a pencil post bed just like this on Craigslist -

I probably love this look so much because I grew up with two twin antique pencil post beds in my bedroom; they are identical to the bed shown above.  They are very special bed frames because my mom and her sister actually used them when they were kids as well.  I distinctly remember jumping on the beds as a kid with friends and one of the beds slats broke.  My mom was furious and she rarely got upset.  It was all fixed but now I so get it.  Sorry, mom. :)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

I’m Back: Hawaii Recap Project List: New Hardware

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tonya  |  October 24, 2012 at 10:37 AM

    Don’t give up hope. I kept looking and found mine (twin) on CL’s for $100.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 312 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

