A Dream…

August 9, 2012 at 5:15 AM 28 comments

I have always had a dream…a very big dream…ever since I was a little girl.

When I would help my mom carry in the groceries as a kid, I would carry the grocery bag on my hip and hold it just as though it were a baby.

When I was in the first grade and we were finishing up a unit on careers, we were to share what we wanted to be when we grew up.  Most kids dreamt of very exciting careers, like an astronaut or firefighter; I proudly boasted to my class that I wanted to be a mom.

When I would babysit, I questioned why people actually paid me.  It was truly a thrill for me.

When I went into teaching, I had secret ulterior motives to use the skills I learned as a mom one day.  I figured there was nothing like watching over 20 7 year old boys to give you a taste of being a mom…granted no clue on the whole baby thing.  I learned from the classroom, that I couldn’t wait to have one of my own.

Then I met Graham…

About two weeks into dating, we were having dinner together and I got a phone call from Australia.  It was my brother calling to say that they had just had a healthy, beautiful baby boy (first baby in the family).  I cried (happy tears).  I’m pretty sure ALL dating books or dating gurus would say don’t cry, especially a blubbering, ugly, emotional cry over the joyous birth of a baby on your fourth date with a guy.  But Graham handled it like a champ; he wasn’t freaked out, rather he was thrilled for me.

About six months into us dating, we went to a family party.  Graham ended up bonding with all of my cousin’s kids.  As I watched Graham toss my five year old cousin into the air and catch him with a smile, I couldn’t help but dream that this was my baby daddy.  Aggressive thoughts six months into dating?  Sure.  But, I didn’t let him know what I was thinking.

Later, when we were far enough in our relationship to actually have the kid conversations, I learned that Graham couldn’t wait to be a dad himself.

Well, here we are today, married and we’ve got a dream en route, expected in February.  I’m officially 13 weeks pregnant and we’re absolutely over the moon!!!

(Photo taken hours after we learned the happy news).

The obligatory 13 weeks and growing belly shot.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Swoon Thank you!!

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  August 9, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    Congratulations Kate & Graham!!! What wonderful news, so happy for you all! xoxo Julia

    Reply
  • 2. Ashley  |  August 9, 2012 at 6:37 AM

    CONGRATULATIONS, KATE! How exciting!!! I can’t wait to follow along here as you share the experience! So, so happy for you.

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen Carlson  |  August 9, 2012 at 6:40 AM

    Congratulations Belchers! So happy for you!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Beatrice  |  August 9, 2012 at 6:41 AM

    Yippee for Kate and Graham!!!!!! The next six months of blogs are going to be so much fun. Can’t wait for the baby room plans. I’m very happy for you both.

    Reply
  • 5. Beatrice  |  August 9, 2012 at 7:21 AM

    Names ? You may use my nickname Toes (boy) or Toesette (girl). UT

    Reply
  • 6. dmm  |  August 9, 2012 at 7:44 AM

    I was SOOOOOO hoping that that would be your Big News; and it is and you are and HOORRRAAYY for you & Graham and the whole wide world! What wonderful, amazing parents you will be; lucky baby. The Manning family extends its most glorious congratulations. . . magnificent news. Indeed. dmm

    Reply
  • 7. AIMEE  |  August 9, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    BEST NEWS EVER!!! Kate, we are so excited for you two (soon to be three). Can’t wait to give you a squeeze and see that baby bump in person. Xxoo

    Reply
  • 8. Kristina  |  August 9, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    Congratulations Kate, so excited for you both! Such exciting news!!

    Reply
  • 9. Allie  |  August 9, 2012 at 8:38 AM

    Wahooooo! Happy this news is now public ;) love you guys!

    Reply
  • 10. Britt Fumia  |  August 9, 2012 at 9:05 AM

    Amazing news:) xoxo
    Love The Fumias

    Reply
  • 11. Caitlin  |  August 9, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    Congratulations!!!! Such great news!

    Reply
  • 12. Trevor  |  August 9, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    Yay Kate and Graham! You guys are going to awesome parents. Can’t wait to meet the lil bugger.

    Reply
  • 13. Katy  |  August 9, 2012 at 9:36 AM

    Love lil Baby Belchers so much already!

    Reply
  • 14. Erin  |  August 9, 2012 at 9:37 AM

    Congratulations Kate and Graham!!

    Reply
  • 15. Rebecca  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:03 AM

    So excited for you! Can’t wait to see the fabulous nursery you’ll put together :)

    Reply
  • 16. Lindsay Imwalle  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:23 AM

    Great news Katie! We’re all so thrilled for you and Graham!! Looking forward to seeing pictures of your ‘baby bump’ growing!! Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 17. Lauren  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:45 AM

    And baby makes three :). I am SO thrilled for you guys! Congratulations! Your little bump in so adorable. We’ll be down over Labor Day weekend and can’t wait to see how that bump is growing! Love you!

    Reply
  • 18. georgia  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:48 AM

    Congratulations to you two!!!!! So happy for you. Love, Georgia & Jerry

    Reply
  • 19. Alice  |  August 9, 2012 at 11:03 AM

    Congratulations!! I cannot wait to see the nursery!

    Reply
  • 20. The Vintique Object  |  August 9, 2012 at 11:24 AM

    Woo hoo! Big congrats to you both. And you look totally adorable with your baby bump!

    Reply
  • 21. AmyPellicane  |  August 9, 2012 at 12:39 PM

    Congratsulations Kate!! You look fabulous!! Can’t wait to see the pics as you desing Baby Belchers’ new suite! xoxo

    Reply
  • 22. regan  |  August 9, 2012 at 7:08 PM

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to see your baby room decorating. Will you find out the gender so you can plan??? Also, let me know if you want my list of favorite baby things.

    Reply
  • 23. Erin  |  August 9, 2012 at 8:51 PM

    CONGRATULATIONS Kate & Graham!!! So happy for you and your growing family!

    Reply
  • 24. Katie Waddell  |  August 10, 2012 at 11:11 AM

    Yay, Congrats!!!! You look great!!

    Reply
  • 25. Barbara Walsh  |  August 10, 2012 at 9:55 PM

    The greatest news * so happy for you and Graham * here’s to the beautiful Mom to be * love and hugs xxoo

    Reply
  • 26. Robin  |  August 11, 2012 at 1:45 PM

    Woo Hoo! Congratulations, such good news.

    Reply
  • 27. Julie Young  |  August 13, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    I am delighted for you two. You will be wonderful parents and will have an awesome new life. Hugs, Julie Young

    Reply
  • 28. Clare  |  August 15, 2012 at 12:46 PM

    Kate!! Congrats! So incredibly happy for you and Graham. This is my favorite Kate Collins blog post. Beautiful. Hope you are feeling well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 306 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

