Project Reveal: Bumble Play Cafe

September 6, 2011 at 5:10 AM 9 comments

I hope everyone had a fantastic labor day weekend!  I had a great one.  One of the joys of this weekend was walking around Bumble: A Play Cafe that I helped to design, as it is officially open to the public.  I’ve blogged about it here and here.  Here was the picture of where we were at back then…

And here it is today:

It’s come along way and I love the way it turned out!  All of the seating, in this room, are vintage pieces that we found and had recovered in fabrics that can stand the test of little ones and grown up spills.  The low seat curved sofa faces a large aquarium; I was so happy when I found this sofa because it provides a comfy spot that is easy for children to hop onto and sit eye level with the fish.  I also found the large antler chandelier from this ETSY shop, of all places.  There are so many gems on ETSY!  (All antlers were from sheddings and no animals were harmed).

I love the way the communal table nook turned out.  You can come with a large party of friends or share the seating and perhaps make a new acquaintance or two.

I’ve been moving from the back of the restaurant to the front.  Up the ramp from the communal table and to the left, you’ll find an outdoor patio.  The outdoor patio is for adults only.  It’s a place to come relax, sip some wine and watch a football game or perhaps a reality TV show with girlfriends.  We went with a contrast pipe on the cushions, which is a look I absolutely love.

This was that same outdoor space when I blogged about it in January:

As you enter back in, we’re getting close to the front entrance.   There is a cozy nook with fireplace seating to cuddle up and sip a glass of wine.  The mirror above the fireplace is made with wood chips, which is really stunning in person.

Across from the seating is the bar which is open to the bustling kitchen.  It’s a great place to sit with a cup of coffee and to smell the aroma of fresh food being prepared.

And moving on up to what you’re greeted by – yellow: the most inviting color of all.

Come on in!

The fun doesn’t stop there.  I haven’t shown you where most of the activity and giggles will  happen – the play area for the kiddos.

 

I love the way the blue scale tiles turned out in the kid’s bathroom; it’s such a fun element that goes great with the aquarium.

This is the spot where you can drop your kids off.  They will be watched by trained sitters and you can go enjoy a meal with  your girlfriends or husband.  Yes, you read that correctly.  An easy, relaxing meal or cup of coffee without having to find a babysitter or drop the kids off at your moms.  How easy and wonderful is that?  And what fun your kids will be having.

One last spot that’s fun for the whole family – an outdoor sand box and seating:

I’m so happy to have worked on this project and I’m proud with how it all turned out.  Mary Heffernan, the owner, did an amazing job and I know this cafe will be a huge success.  Come on down to Bumble on 145 1st Street in Los Altos; I PROMISE you won’t regret it.  The whole place is a little slice of happiness.

If you are interested in hiring me for designing a piece of your home or an entire look, I’m happy to help.  You can e-mail me at katecollinsinteriors@gmail.com for more information.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Happy Friday! Missed Opportunity

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  September 6, 2011 at 8:21 AM

    Wow, Kate! This looks amazing. I love it. You both had such great vision.

    Reply
  • 2. dmm  |  September 6, 2011 at 9:46 AM

    oh. my. goodness. is all i can say; this project is beyond the beyond. . . . the colors, the light fixtures, the DOOR, the sofas, the play area; i canNOT decide which vignette i love the most!!! as a retired teacher (15 years in Kindergarten) i fully appreciate the vibrancy, attention to detail and overall welcoming atmosphere this space celebrates; bravo, kate, BRAVO!!!!!!! it almost warrants a trip up north to los altos just to see it. dmm

    Reply
  • 3. Ashley  |  September 6, 2011 at 9:46 AM

    Kate, this is spectacular! I wish I was closer so that I could enjoy it in person! I love the gray and yellow color combination, as well as the whimsical touch with the scale-shaped tiles. Congratulations on a job very well done!

    Reply
  • 4. consciouscloset  |  September 6, 2011 at 10:03 AM

    Congratulations, Kate! Everything looks wonderful!

    Reply
  • 5. Elizabeth Goodwin  |  September 6, 2011 at 4:59 PM

    Kate, that looks amazing! Definitely the chicest child drop off spot I have ever seen!

    Reply
  • 6. Karen Miller  |  September 6, 2011 at 8:34 PM

    Kate–your design and special touches for ALL of the spaces are incredible! After having Elise and Abby in Oregon for the week-end–I fully appreciate the play spaces AND the relaxing for grown-ups spaces-! Congratulations on the transformation!
    Karen Miller

    Reply
  • 7. Katie  |  September 6, 2011 at 9:25 PM

    Kate it looks awesome!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. karin  |  September 8, 2011 at 2:32 PM

    what a great job! Looks like a great place to visit…..i wonder if you will share the source on the bar stools – looking for them for my kitchen but need them to be a price friendly since I need 4.
    PS – kate helped me with my hallway and loved the way it turned out! couldn’t have done the styling without her keen eye!

    Reply
  • 9. Beatrice  |  September 8, 2011 at 4:41 PM

    I definitely plan to visit Bumble when I am in Los Altos. That place is so inviting!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 312 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

