Painted Staircases

May 11, 2010 at 10:06 AM 4 comments

Now, many times I would suggest against what I’m about to blog about because it can make a house look too busy.  But in a more understated home, this would be a great way to add in an element of surprise: paint your stairs.  Stairs are probably a pocket of your home that you didn’t think about designing.   You can go the more traditional way and put carpet runner up your stairs or go with paint, have some fun and most importantly save some money.   What do you think?

Before and after pictures via Domino Magazine.  What a difference some paint makes!

Going for a bold color really calls attention to the stairway, like this red and orange.  Image via Living Etc.

I love the idea of stenciling on numbers or you could also use different antique post numbers on each step.  Image via Apartment Therapy.

Wouldn’t this be fabulous for a beach house?!  I love the pop of color with all that white.

If you do decide to paint your staircase, I recommend using a professional painter.  There are DIY instructions on line, but you have to be very exact.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Thank You Vintage Bicycle in your Home

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Heffernan  |  May 13, 2010 at 1:32 AM

    oh my gosh those painted stairs with the numbers on them are from my parents house!! Pottery Barn does shoots there sometimes and I think they did those numbers. I’ll have to ask Jannie :) So funny how small even the blog world is- thanks for the nice comment on our blog! I need you to come help us decorate our half empty house now…

    mary

    Reply
  • 2. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 13, 2010 at 8:52 AM

    That is too funny! Their stairs are all over the blogosphere. I love them! I remember you mom saying that Pottery Barn does shoots there at Jill’s shower. I love your new house. Jill also told me the location of it, which has been where I want a house since I was a little girl! I’d love to help out – such fun.

    Reply
  • 3. janet simonson  |  May 13, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    Hi Kate….Mary has been raving about your blog at least once a day! What a thrill this morning when she sent me your link. Now I am enjoying going back through all your creative posts. LOVE IT! I also love Chicago. Have you had a hamburger at the “Billy Goat” ? (I think that’s what it is called) We drove a car out for Ann 2 summers ago and met in Chicago and we were told it was a must, Oasis like I think or Dutch Goose….but we didn’t make it and when I got home I found out my former roommate was there the same day we walked by! She was visiting from Michigan for a wedding shower for her daughter, Mary. Cute idea. You meet for lunch with the bride then all go off shopping for a gift and meet back at dinner with presents in hand. Wit….is your husband at business school because that Mary’s boyfriend now husband was too. They moved to Seoul Korea in January with Samsung. Oh…I’m going on and on but I will now follow your blog and be able to keep up with one of my very favorite girls. love, Janet

    Reply
  • 4. katecollinsinteriors  |  May 13, 2010 at 12:15 PM

    Hi Janet! It’s so great to hear from you. I’m thrilled that you and mary like my blog – especially since I love both of your styles. I wish I could have a house just like yours. :) Chicago is the greatest! We haven’t been to Billy Goat, in fact I haven’t heard of it. We need to go! My husband is at business school here – he is at University of Chicago. He’ll be finished in June though and we are moving to San Francisco. Thanks for reading my blog!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 304 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

