Beyond Honored/Excited

April 15, 2010 at 6:40 AM 14 comments

Wow! Here is a little story I’m so thrilled about that I have to write it on my blog. :)

A while back, I purchased a fabulous Victorian tufted gray velvet armchair. It is beautiful. It has so much character; it is a piece that could either be fixed up and look like something in a fashionable New York boutique hotel or the patina could remain and it would look fabulous in a modern home with hints of tradition. In my eyes, the chair screamed ABC Carpet and Home or Jayson Garden and Home. I just HAD to have it.

Recently, I’ve hit the new business slump. As in…what the heck am I doing? Am I crazy? Do I even have taste? Could I ever possibly make money off this? And how the heck do I fill out my taxes? I put my chair up on ETSY and craigslist and went about my daily business of nannying and sewing projects with a bit of a heavy head.

But then last night, I received a gift from the design gods. An e-mail from Julia Edelmann of Buckingham ID. As in the Julia who has been featured in House Beautiful, The New York Times, Metropolitan Home and many other glossies. She is MAJOR/celebrity status in the interior design world. She is interested in purchasing my gray velvet tufted armchair!!! She is coming to my house in a couple of hours!!! OMG!! I’m wishing I could finish all those projects and find that magical hidden storage nook. For now it’ll have to be behind my bedroom door.

I don’t care if she doesn’t buy the chair or even if she’s a no show. Just the e-mail alone did it. Oh who am I kidding – I sound like someone who’s satisfied just to be nominated for an academy award. I would be devastated if she doesn’t show and disappointed if she doesn’t buy the chair. All in all, I’m beyond honored and excited. Thanks Julia for confirming my taste and faith in this crazy new business that I have created!

Click here to view her work. I wasn’t able to lift her pictures from her site to my blog. Apologies.

Entry filed under: Life Lessons. Tags: , , , .

Joy! April/May Issue of Lonny From my home to Julia’s

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beatrice Olivia Blake  |  April 15, 2010 at 7:08 AM

    Kate-
    Good decision; I too would have wanted to snatch that chair. AND congratulations on being noticed by someone in the business bigtime. I love your blog—look forward to it every morning. I just wish that you could come to my house and lift a few things and give them some pizazz. I have a mahogany Queen Anne coffee table that I have been thinking of lacquering red. Do you think that up there in the heavens my mother will be groaning? Wish that I could send you a picture but I don’t know how to do that.
    Bea

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  April 15, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    Did she come over? did she buy? How did she like your aprtment?

    I love Aunt Beatrice comments.

    Reply
  • 3. Britt  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:06 AM

    Yeay!!!! This is awesome, awesome, awesome!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lindsay  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:25 AM

    That is amazing! You’re incredible. Let me know if she doesn’t buy – it would look perfect in my living room!!!! Congrats, you! You have a fantastic eye.

    Reply
  • 5. Katy  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:55 AM

    I just went to her website and she has 4 pages of press coverage. AMAZING! Congratulations! Next time that head is heavy you give me a call and I’ll get you back on track! Love you and CONGRATS. Great purchase, great story, great Kate! Also, her name sounds British, you should try your Posh accent on her and see how that goes. MAAAAYYYY-JJAAAHHHHH.

    Reply
  • 6. Erin  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:57 AM

    Congratulations Kate!! This is huge and so exciting. Well done and well deserved. I can’t wait to hear about Julia’s visit. Tell us everything!

    Oh, and please don’t doubt your taste. It is FABULOUS!!

    Reply
  • 7. Beck  |  April 15, 2010 at 10:19 AM

    Yay!! Way to go Kate!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Glynnis  |  April 15, 2010 at 10:20 AM

    Kudos to you Kate. I love the carving in the chair, it really is beautiful. Such care was taken about small detail in Victorian times – some of it over the top, but so much is really dainty and you found a beaut! Well done and good luck meeting the guru. Watch this space…..

    Reply
  • 9. caitlin  |  April 15, 2010 at 10:35 AM

    weeeeeee! you’re a star!! so exciting!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. katecollinsinteriors  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:31 PM

    Thank you everyone for your wonderful compliments/comments. Julia came to my house and you’ll have to see my blog tomorrow for what happened…:)

    Reply
  • 11. caitlin  |  April 15, 2010 at 3:43 PM

    i’m dying…i’ve been checking back like every 30 minutes! can’t wait to find out what happened!

    Reply
  • 12. Christine  |  April 15, 2010 at 7:38 PM

    that is SOOOOO AWESOME kate!!!!!!! :) what a rush it must’ve been! :)

    Reply
  • 13. Victoria @ DesignTies  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:27 PM

    Very fun! Assuming she comes by and purchases your chair, you’ll have to be sure to ask her to send you a photo of the chair once she’s refurbished/re-upholstered it… I wonder what she’ll do with this already awesome chair?!
    Victoria

    Reply
  • 14. Julia Edelmann’s Office Chair « Kate Collins Interiors  |  June 21, 2010 at 11:44 AM

    [...] Buckingham Edelmann’s office chair, of Buckingham ID.  As I blogged about a few months ago, “Beyond Honored/Excited”, I sold her an antique chair.  She took this chair and transformed it to a complete showstopper. [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome

Hi, welcome to my interior design blog. This is my little spot to attempt to express my design style and to show wonderful inspirations for making a home. I hope you enjoy it!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Chance for a free Kate Collins Interiors' designed gift...

Join 298 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

